Uncategorized

Book Review: Entwined

In an effort to make this blog stop looking so…empty, I’ve decided to do another book review. My goal for this blog is at least one post every two days and a book review every week. This week you get two reviews….Splintered yesterday, and Entwined today.

Just when Azalea should feel that everything is before her—beautiful gowns, dashing suitors, balls filled with dancing—it’s taken away. All of it. And Azalea is trapped. The Keeper understands. He’s trapped, too, held for centuries within the walls of the palace. So he extends an invitation.

Every night, Azalea and her eleven sisters may step through the enchanted passage in their room to dance in his silver forest, but there is a cost. The Keeper likes to keep things. Azalea may not realize how tangled she is in his web until it is too late.(Synopsis from Goodreads)

This was another friend recommended book, but this one was pretty much forced into my hands with a lot of gushing and giggling. A bit bemused, I took it, admired the cover for a second, then tucked it into my bookshelf and didn’t read it. After I returned it when I found it again two weeks later, the same book appeared from the library. This time I read it (somewhat grudgingly).

I stayed up until 1AM finishing it. This book was amazing. It was the first book I bought for my Kindle, and I still often check it out from the library just so I could have it in book format.

What I found interesting about this is it’s kind of the “thing” right now to write books about a Princess who doesn’t want/act like a Princess. Entwined’s MC, Azalea, is very much a princess. Elegant and charming, and very polite. They also don’t have a lot of money, which was common, but you don’t find that a lot in books, either.

The relationship between the sisters is sweet, Azalea pretty much becoming their mother after the queen died. She struggles between her duties as a sister and as a princess, and dreads the day when Parliament chooses her husband for her.

And the villain. Keeper. He is the creepiest, ickiest villain I have ever had the pleasure/displeasure of reading about. He’s not straight-on scary, just creepy. Spine-chilling. Actually, one of the best villains I have ever seen, simply because of the depth and eeriness of his character.

This book is amazing. I highly recommend it. Five stars. ✩✩✩✩✩

While we’re on the subject of Heather Dixon, I have to tell you about her blog. She’s a storyboard artist, which is reflected in her blog. It’s not updated regularly, but when it is, it’s worth the wait. Her artwork is funny, telling the stories of her life, and full of expression. I have laughed until I have cried at some of her stuff. The blog is called Story Monster.

Check it out. You won’t be disappointed with what you find.

 

Leave a Reply

