Uncategorized

My Thoughts during NaNoWriMo

I still can’t believe it. It doesn’t seem real.

For those of you that don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth. Basically, you write 50,000 words in November. That might not seem like much, but trust me, you’ll rethink that when you’ve been staring at the glowing computer screen for four hours and only have written 2,000 words.

Somehow I managed to finish without loosing my mind. I think the large amounts of ice cream, coffee, and leftover Halloween candy I consumed helped. And since none of my friends have asked me why I’ve lost my mind, I consider this November a great success. And it was also my first year doing it, so that’s saying something.

But here are my thoughts leading up to and through NaNoWriMo

The two months beforehand: Wow, I am super excited! This is awesome! I love my idea, I’ve got tons of time to prep and to talk to other writers. 50,000 in a month? This will be a breeze!

Halloween: I am completely unprepared.

Day 1: Woo, this is awesome! I’ve written 5,000 words so far! I’ll be done before Thanksgiving!

End of Week 1: I’m almost 8,000 words above my goal! Why do people call this really hard?

Beginning of Week 2: Oh. That’s why.

Middle of Week 2: I’ve hit a block. I’m falling behind my word goal fast. I need to write something, anything right now. And I need a way to turn off WiFi without turning off Google, the NaNo forums, and Spotify.

End of Week 2: My idea sucks.

Beginning of Week 3: Still very much stuck. My idea’s terrible. But at least I hit the halfway point.

Middle of Week 3: There’s no way I’m going to finish.

End of Week 3: I’ve gotten past my block just to hit another. I’m going to yell in frustration or start crying.

Beginning of Week 4: When in doubt, kill a character.

Middle of Week 4: My fingers are flying so fast I’m surprised I can’t hear a sonic boom. Music is white noise in my ears. I’m sure I look like I’m in some sort of coma, but I don’t care.

End of Week 4: So close to being done! I can do this!

November 30th: I wrote 11,000 words in one day. How is that humanly possible? I don’t even remember writing most of these.

December 1st (Today): I made it through! Purple is everywhere! I can collect my winner goodies and bask in the completeness of the novel. I’ll celebrate with ice cream and maybe a few gallons of relieved tears.

So I finished. Somehow. I actually have no idea how I managed to, but I know one thing: It was awesome, and I’m totally doing it next year!

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts during NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

