Uncategorized

Five Amazing Books I Almost Didn’t Read (but am glad I did)

Let’s start with this one:

I was given this book on a vacation years ago, and told to read it. Even as a major bookworm, I didn’t think I had enough time to read one book, let alone the whole series. So do you know what I did? I skimmed it. I “read” it in half an hour, told my parents I didn’t like it then joined the other kids in the pool. Then, three years later, this book is forced into my hands by a cousin. I didn’t even remember reading it the first time, so it was like reading it for first time again. And I loved it.  I had no idea why I hadn’t just taken the time to read it on that vacation those years ago.

I got this one as a birthday present and thought it was going to be a stupid, girly book. Nope. Don’t be fooled by the title, this is far from a book of air-headed teen girls. It’s one of those books you don’t want to put down. Everything about it is compelling. Shannon Hale is an amazing author. (And, FYI, I like the original cover better)

This book was a given to me by a friend, who insisted I read it. I’d read books by Wendelin Van Draanen before (her Sammy Keyes series), and loved them, so I have no idea why I was so reluctant to start it. But I was, so when I finally read it I was blown away by how good it was. This is a powerful, amazing book that made me see things differently. It is completely worth the read.

This was recommended by the same friend who recommended The Running Dream, but this took even more convincing. I thought, “Flesh-eating water horses? Okay…” and forgot about it. But one day, just for the heck of it (because I had nothing else to read) I picked this book off the shelf of the library. I loved it. Maggie Stiefvater makes this world completely, utterly believable. This is a bloody, edge-of-your seat read that will make you wish there was a sequel (and the end will make you cry)

Yep. As unbelievable as it sounds, I steadfastly refused to read Harry Potter until the summer between sixth and seventh grade. No matter how many people recommended it to me or told me how good it was, I still refused. Until one day we were going on a week-long vacation and I forgot to pack books. Enter my Mom, who went down to a consignment store and bought the first one for 50 cents. She gave it to me, saying, “Just give it a shot. If you don’t like it, it was only 50 cents. If you do, they have the second and third ones, too.”

Three days went by before I finally picked it up. And I devoured it. I read the first three within two days and placed the next ones on hold at the library.  Just like everyone said I would, I loved it.

So those are the five that I didn’t think I would like but I ended up loving. What are some of your books like that?

Siggie

Leave a Reply

