Interview: Kiki Hamilton

So, a few days ago I contacted one of my favorite authors, asking if I could interview her for this blog. I hadn’t even been expecting an answer…or if I had gotten one, I expected a polite “no”. But two days ago I got an answer back…she had said yes!

She’s a wonderful author, and I’d recommend checking out the stuff she’s written.

Kiki Hamilton is the author of the YA historical fantasy series THE FAERIE RING, as well as the YA contemporary novel THE LAST DANCE.  And she agreed to do my interview.

Q. How long have you been writing?

A. I started seriously writing in 2006 after reading the first four books in the Harry Potter series.  I  had written short stories and a lot of bad poems in high school, but reading HP made me remember how much I loved to read and get lost in a story – so that’s what inspired me to write.

Q. Did you always know you wanted to be an author or did it just kind of…happen?

A. It’s funny – I talked about writing a book when I was in high school. In fact, I just talked to a friend from high school who said ‘I remember you writing stories all the time’ – which I DON’T remember 🙂 but I always thought in the back of my head someday that I would I do it. However, I actually did it a lot later in life than I planned! 🙂

Q. If you could tell your younger writing self one thing, what would it be?

A. I would definitely say – go after that dream! I wish now that I would have seriously pursued writing back in my 20’s instead of waiting as long as I did. But it’s all good. I’m very happy that I eventually did find the time to write and I’m happy with what I’ve written.

Q. What is one thing you would like to change in one of your published novels?

A. I like my books as they are.  If anything, I guess I would wish for wider distribution – a bigger audience – but probably 99% of authors wish for that!

Q. Do you ever base your characters off people you really know?

A. No, I’ve never based a character on someone I know, but I do pick quirks, or sayings or little tidbits and fold those into my characters.  It makes me smile when I re-read and know where some of those ideas originated.

Q. What has been your favorite character to write?

A. Larkin is by far the most interesting, enigmatic, unpredictable character I’ve written. She was so much fun to write because even I didn’t know what she was going to do half the time. And she could be so awful! Which made it all that much more fun to write her. At the same time, she could be very supportive in a subversive sort of way so you never knew for sure where she placed her loyalties.

Q. What is one skill (writing or otherwise) that you would like to have?

A. I’d like to be a great guitar player. 🙂

Q. What’s your favorite novel? Or, if it’s too hard to decide, what are a few of your favorites?

A. I LOVED the Harry Potter novels. It’s what brought me back to reading and inspired me to write.  To fall into a story and become someone else, with magical powers and to exist in a totally different world – you can’t ask for more!

Q. What’s your favorite and least favorite parts about writing?

A. I hate the middle of the book. Ugh – it always feels like that part takes forever to write…..and I’m not terribly fond of revising, even though I know it’s the most important part of  getting the story right.

Q. Are there any authors you look up to?

A. I look up to MANY authors and I have respect for ANYONE who has the tenacity to actually write a book with a beginning, a middle and an end. I always wonder when I read a mean review if that reviewer has ever actually tried to write a book.  It takes a lot of hard work and belief in your own ability to tackle that task.

Q. Is there a certain place you like write?

A. Not really. I keep everything on my laptop and I take my laptop everywhere I go so I can write whenever I have time. I haven’t actually been writing the last few months.  My day job is extremely busy so I’ll have to carve some time out and get back to it.

Q. What writing program do you use?

A. I write in Word and I keep an Excel file for every WIP, which has all my plot notes and story board etc in it.  I keep a folder for every WIP so I have all my pictures, notes and files in one place.

Q. And, finally, if you could give fellow writers one piece of advice, what would it be”

A. My advice is to never give it up.  Seriously. You’ll get a million no’s along the way but you always have to remember it only takes one yes to change your world.  It is a tough, tough business and you have to write for the love of the story only you can tell. Accept constructive criticism, continue to learn your craft and write write write because it’s what you love to do! That in itself is a measure of success.

Thank you, Kiki Hamilton, for the interview!

You can find her blog and information about her novels here.

Happy Friday,

Siggie

Leave a Reply

