Top Ten Tuesday

I have recently decided to start participating in The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday meme. This weeks theme is top ten books for readers who like “X”, so I have decided on:

Top Ten Books for Readers Who Like Fairy Tale Retellings

cinder This book is fantastic. Think a futuristic, sci-fi version of Cinderella, set in China. The main character is instantly likable, all the minor characters are perfectly fleshed out…they don’t fall flat like what is unfortunately common. Also, it’s slightly embarrassing, but I didn’t realize Cinder was a fairy-tale retelling until I reached the part with the ball and her loosing her shoe. The relationships to the original fairy tale are small, but that’s what makes it good.

index  First off…look at the cover. Isn’t it amazing? That’s partly what drew me in. That, and my friend pretty much forcing the book into my hands. But the story itself is sweet, and the antagonist, Keeper, is the eeriest, ickiest villain I have ever had the pleasure/displeasure to read about. He’s not straight-on scary….but he’s spine-chilling.

indexSplintered isn’t that much of a retelling, per say, it’s about the descendant of Alice Liddell, the girl the book Alive in Wonderland was based on. But it’s so good I can’t not add it to the list. And Wonderland was creepy enough in the original, but in Splintered that creepiness is heightened yet made beautiful at the same time. Confusing? Yes. Amazing? Yes!

indexEverything I’ve read by Shannon Hale is amazing, and this book is no different. And the character arch of the main character is amazing…from needy, delicate princess to confident, strong gooseherder. The entire series is great, actually.

51UFJU0R2pL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ Also by Shannon Hale, this book is written more like a diary. It’s based of the Grimm’s Fairy Tale Maid Maleen, which I hadn’t actually heard about or read until after I finished this book and figured it out by reading reviews.

Princess_of_the_Midnight_Ball_cover Another Twelve Dancing Princesses Retelling. I didn’t like this one as much as I did Entwined, but it was still an interesting read. I found it interesting how the general prejudice of witchcraft came into the story…most historical fantasies don’t touch on that unless the main character is a witch.

1210754 Also by Jessica Day George, this is based of a Nordic Legend, East of the Sun, West of the Moon. It’s full of the beautiful Nordic names and interesting folklore. It’s a quick read, but it’s worth it.

Baker_-_Frog_PrincessThis is the book that the Disney movie The Princess and the Frog was based on. Let’s just say that the only thing Disney got right was that the princess turned into a frog when she kissed the prince. What I liked about the book is that the girl isn’t your typical princess…she’s clumsy, enjoys being outside more than she does sitting around her room doing princess-y things.

13206760I’m sorry, I know this is the second book in a series, but it’s too good not the add to the list, and it’s based off a different fairy tale, anyway. Scarlet is based on of Little Red Riding Hood, but Scarlet is nothing like the naive little girl in the original. She’s tough, smart, and french.

51EC9REGWuL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Another in the Lunar Chronicles, but this one is based on of Rapunzel, and my favorite of the series. Cress is sweet, awkward, and naive, yet she’s instantly likeable, and you pretty much have to ship her with Thorne. It ends on a cliffhanger, too…making me all that much more excited for Winter.

So that’s my first list for Top Ten Tuesday. It’s funny…because compared to other stuff, I don’t read fairy-tale retellings. This list is pretty much the only ones I’ve read. But all the books on this list are worth a read.

Also, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is tonight. Just thought you guys should know that. 🙂

Happy Tuesday,

Siggie

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Love this topic! I love reading a good fairy-tale retelling. The Lunar Chronicles books are pure amazingness – love how elements from old, beloved fairytales have been spun into a fresh, new, exciting stories. Ooh never heard of Shannon Hale’s books before – sound really interesting! Also I MUST start the Splintered series – it looks so good! Great pick this week 🙂

    Becca @ Lost in Thought
    My TTT!

    Like

  2. If you like darker fairy tales you should try Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth, it’s an amazing retelling of Rapunzel entwined with the stories of the witch and the woman who first recorded the fairy tale. She’s also written the story of the woman who married one of the Grimm brothers (it’s called The Wild Girl), it is pretty good too and has some interesting ideas about some of the deeper meanings of some rarer fairy tales. Love your list fairy tale retellings are some of my favourite stories.

    Like

  3. Ahh, you have E.D. Baker on here! I loved her books when I was younger (way before the Disney movie released). And have you heard of Gail Carson Levine? She writes a lot of middle school level fairy tale books! I’d recommend Ella Enchanted or The Two Princesses of Bamarre.

    Like

    1. I loved her stuff, too. I read The Frog Princess and was hooked.

      I have. I’ve read The Tale of Two Castles (that was her, right?), but still need to read Ella Enchanted. I’ve got a cousin who’s three years younger than me and she says I need to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

