Uncategorized

Things I Wish I Saw More Of

As much as YA was grown the past years, I still find it sadly lacking in some things. So I decided to make a list of the things that I really want to see more of.

I Wish YA Had More…

Ghosts: Like horror ghosts. Not romance, not harmless ghosts warning of a death to come or whatever. Scary ghosts. Ghosts that send chills down your spine and make you want to sit up all night with the light on.

People actually doing stuff people do: Eating. Sleeping. Texting with friends and doing chores and all that fun stuff. In most books…fantasy and sci-fi especially, you just don’t see stuff like that.

Novels without a Love Interest: Not every teenager has a love interest. It is not necessary to have one in a YA novel. I don’t know if it’s just so common it’s considered necessary, but it shouldn’t be so uncommon. Also, a boy and a girl who have been best friends for years don’t need to turn into a romance.

Nerdy Heroes/Heroines: I want a MC who’s a major bookworm, watches Doctor Who and Sherlock, reads comics and graphic novels, reads fan theories and goes to midnight movie premieres. That would be a main character I could identify with.

Dragons: It seems once you reach YA there are no more stories about dragons, which I sad, because I really like them.

Mysteries: Like with dragons, once you reach YA they kind of…simmer off. There are still a few, but they tend to feel more like romances than actual mysteries.

There are so many more things, but these are the high notes. What are some of the things you wish you saw more of?

Happy Friday,

Siggie

Leave a Reply

