Kindle vs. Book

Today, I present to you, the ultimate showdown. Fists have been flying since November 19th 2007…and no victor is in sight. Today, we’ll let you decide for yourselves…welcome, to the Bookish Battle Station!

KindleVsBook

Ignore me.

Anyways, it has been a long-standing debate. There are those who would protect their Kindle from any grubby book-reader‘s hands, preferably with guns and dynamite, and then those who hold Kindle-burning parties and swear they will never, ever, let the real book go extinct.

I don’t see that happening very soon, and if they did, I would most likely be crying for days.

But anyways, I’ve decided to make a list of pros and cons of both the Amazon Kindle, and a normal ol’ book.

just so you know, I have a Kindle Paperwhite. That’s what I’m basing this off of.

PROS

For Kindle:

  • Easy to shove in a backpack or purse
  • Not very heavy
  • Can have dozens of my books on hand at any given time
  • A cheaper way to buy books
  • Uses less paper
  • Makes it easier to read in the dark

For Book:

  • Browsing through book stores (used or new) is one of the funnest and more exciting thing a bookworm can do.
  • You can get actual books signed by the authors
  • A book never runs out of battery
  • Easy to loan books to friends
  • Buying books from small-town bookstores supports local business instead of a multi-million dollar company.
  • If you drop a book in the bathtub it’s not the end of the world. It won’t short-circuit and die.

CONS

For Kindle:

  • Runs out of battery and needs to be charged
  • In most cases, it doesn’t last as long as a paper book
  • Much more expensive to buy in the first place
  • Much more sensitive to the elements…if it gets wet, you can’t just drape it over the back of a chair to dry out.
  • Can break if you drop it.

For Book:

  • In most cases, is heavier than the Kindle
  • Hard to carry around more than one or two at once.
  • If you want to buy a book, you can’t just download it from the computer. You either have to drive to the bookstore or wait for a book to ship.
  • Easy to accidentally rip, tear, stain, or bend pages
  • Easy to lend out. Which means it’s hard to think of an excuse when you’re trying to keep one of your precious books from ending up in a someone else’s hands.

So there’s the list. Do you agree or disagree with any of the pros or cons? Which do you prefer…Kindle or paper book, and why?

Happy Sunday,

Siggie

2 thoughts on “Kindle vs. Book

  1. I think your list is perfect aaaand they’re pretty evenly balanced, right?! I think it depends on the reader, like, for which works best for you. xD I LOVE paperbacks, mostly because I feel like when I read on kindle my brain goes into “editing” mode (because I’m a writer and a computer screen = editing) and I don’t enjoy the book so much. Plus I read on my iPod which is sooo frustrating. I would LOVE to get a real kindle and see if that helped me enjoy kindle books more. 😉
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    1. I do think they’re pretty evenly balanced, and I don’t want either to go away.

      And what I like about my Paperwhite is that it doesn’t have a screen like an iPhone. I don’t know how to describe it…I think they call it eInk? But I really like it

      Like

Leave a Reply

