Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: April Showers, May Flowers and…books?

5f295-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about it here. This week’s theme is books on your Spring To Be Read list, which for me at least, is very, very long.

First up:

indexBlue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater: Book three in the Raven Cycle series, this promises to be a very good book. I loved The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves, and anything by Maggie Stiefvater is amazing, so this has to be great, too. And I believe the forth and final book, The Raven King, comes out in September, so I really should get my hands on this before then.

71v7tHW6s3LVanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver: I was at Barnes and Noble the other day because I needed something new to read. I was trying to decide between getting Vanishing Girls and Fangirl, and I ultimately decided on Fangirl because of-why else?- the title. But I still need to read this, and it’s still up very high on my TBR list.

22840398Illusionarium by Heather Dixon: It comes out May 19th, I think, and I cannot tell you how excited I am. I have been waiting for this book for at least two and a half years. And from what I’ve heard of it, it promises to be exciting. I’ve also been following Heather Dixon’s Pinterest board for this, and while some of the stuff she pins creeps me out, it all looks really cool.

DSB_final_6_1Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor: I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book. It sounds fantastic, exactly like the kind of book I’d love. I’ve placed a hold at the library for it both in eBook form and in book-book form, so I shouldn’t have to wait too long to read it. A week or two at most. I’m looking forward to reading it.

71GXQFa+RRLShatter Me by Tahereh Mafi: This book was recommended by a friend who doesn’t really like to read. So when she says a book is good…it must mean the book is amazing. Splintered was the last recommendation by her, I believe, and I loved that series, so this one must be really good, too. The only problem is I can’t find the first book anywhere.

The_100_book_coverThe 100 by Cass Morgan: I want to read this because of the t.v. show. As horrible as that sounds, I didn’t actually know the t.v. show was based off a book series until I found book two in Barnes and Noble about a month ago. And since my rule is read the book before you see the movie/t.v. show, I was horrified. Anyway, it will be interesting to see how the book differs from the show.

91INAA3j+FLChampion by Marie Lu: I only recently discovered this series, and found it very interesting. It’s refreshing to find two main characters who want to keep the society they live in…they just want it to change. It seems like every dystopian novel I’ve read the main character wants the society gone. But anyways, the first two books were good, and I look forward to seeing how it ends(A review I read described it as heartbreaking yet happy all at once. I hope June and Day don’t die, I like ’em).

137Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stone: This keep showing up on my Kindle recommended reads list. Apparently Amazon thinks I’ll like it. But I might as well give it a try, because the last Kindle recommended read I actually read was Cinder, and I adored it. So maybe Amazon knows what they’re doing.

indexAll Fall Down by Ally Carter: I have a confession to make…I actually own this book. I bought it the day it came out. But I keep putting off reading it because I’m 99% sure that I’ll love it. And if I love it…it’ll be ten times more agonizing waiting for the second one to come out. But I really should read it…maybe I’ll bring it up to my Grandparent’s for Easter. If it’s the only book I have…I’ll have to read it.

200px-Terrier_CoverTerrier by Tamora Pierce: I actually don’t know why I haven’t read this yet. I loved her three other Tortall series, I just haven’t read this one yet. I think it’s because it’s a prequel series of sorts…it doesn’t have the familiar characters I already know from her other series. When I do read it, however…I’ll have the bar set very, very high. I expect much from it.

So that’s my list. Of course, there are many, many more…but these are the ones at the top of my list.  I actually need to start writing them all down…there’s this one book that I really want to read but of course I can’t think of the title right now. I think if I find an empty notebook somewhere I’ll start one.

Happy Tuesday,

Siggie

Oh, and happy Saint Patrick’s Day! I almost forgot. Good thing I was already wearing green when I realized.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: April Showers, May Flowers and…books?

  1. The 100 and Illusionarium look really good! Thankfully I haven’t seen the TV show so I have no idea what to except.

    Also…Kass Morgan is such an epic name.

    Like

  2. So many good ones here! I love Tamara Pierce. Terrier is different, but really good and Shatter Me and Daughter of Smoke and Bone are two pretty amazing trilogies.

    And the 100 is one I need to add to mine. I like to read first too and all I hear is that the TV show is a must-have and I still haven’t started it…

    Like

    1. That’s what people have been telling me…that Terrier is still really good but it’s just different.

      The t.v. show is good…it’s just a bit more violent than I normally like, and it bugs me how little worldbuilding they’ve done. It’s mostly character building, or worldbuilding on the ARC. But I still like it.

      Like

  3. I feel like every TBR list I make I want to put Daughter of Smoke and Bone on it, but it would get too repetitive so I leave it out. But it’s definitely one of the books I want to get to soon. I really enjoyed Shatter Me. It’s heavy on the romance so I kind of feel like it’s a guilty pleasure of mine, but the story is so addictive.
    My Top Ten Tuesday

    Like

    1. It keeps popping up, and since most of the books I’m waiting for don’t come out until May, I decided to give it a try. And that’s what I keep hearing about Shatter Me…very romantic, but also very good. And considering it was recommended by a friend who doesn’t like romance-heavy books, that’s saying something.

      Like

Leave a Reply

