Uncategorized

Fire, water, and an ancient feud

17331828Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

So, when I first heard this was coming out, I was a little bit frustrated. Why was she working on a new series after that cliffhanger in The Iron Traitor? To show my frustrating, I put off reading Talon even though I really wanted to. Flawed logic, I know.

But sometime after Christmas I had a little extra money on an Amazon gift card, and I didn’t have anything to read, so I ended up buying it.

I didn’t like it as much as I liked the Iron Fey series and the Blood of Eden series, but it was still a good book. It felt like it was aimed for a younger age range, and was less dark than her other two series.

But I still devoured it. Ember, our heroine, is confident, sarcastic, and a dragon in disguise. She and her twin brother, Dante, were sent to sunny L.A. for a summer of normal teenager-hood. Unfortunately, that plan is turned on it’s head when the Order of St. George moves in, at the same time a rogue dragon sets his sights on Ember.

And honestly, I was poised to love Talon, Ember, and Dante and hate Garret and the Order. But that’s not what happened. Talon is just as flawed as the Order, sending females to fail their training to breeding grounds, training assassin dragons to hunt down anyone who dares to leave Talon, and has this whole air of secrecy that really makes me not like them.

I did have a few problems with the book, what with Ember’s name being so obvious (and Garret not figuring it out right away), pretty much no explanation on life before L.A. and I felt like there were a few unneeded scenes.

But it was still a good book, and it would be the perfect thing to read on vacation.

★★★⋆

3 1/2 Stars

Happy Friday,

Siggie

One thought on “Fire, water, and an ancient feud

  1. This was my first book by this author and I LOVED IT SO MUCH. I loved all the characters even though I wanted to slap Dante sometimes, hehe, and Garrett was just adorable. Omg, and I totally rooted for Ember and her wildness. She was epic. Now I want to read the Iron Fey series because reeeeasons. *scribbles it on to-do list*
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

