Revisiting the Past

5f295-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging Meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about it here.

This week’s theme is books you read when you were younger that you want to read again. For me, at least, this is hundreds. If I didn’t feel so weird choosing books from the Children’s section of the library, I’m sure I would have already done this. Maybe this is the quick in the butt I need.

First up:

51JI5aukuCL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex: I read the summer of sixth or seventh grade, and I remember loving it. And then I never read it again. But now especially that a movie based on it is coming out, I really need to read it again. Goofy aliens! What’s not to like?

The_Penderwicks_-_A_Summer_Tale_of_Four_Sisters,_Two_Rabbits,_and_a_Very_Interesting_BoyThe Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall: I actually think I still have the first, second, and third books somewhere. But I remember it being a sweet, real book, and I wonder what I’d think of the main characters now that I’m older than all of them, instead of older than two of them.

imagesInto the Wild by Erin Hunter: I wonder if I still think this book is fantastic now that I’m not nine and on summer vacation. I haven’t read this in years, but it’s still sitting on my bookshelf, collecting dust. Maybe I need to crack it open again.

indexThe Fairy-Tale Detectives by Michael Buckley: Think a younger, less romance-y version of ABC’s Once Upon a Time and you’ve got a pretty good idea. But this is a mystery series, and I remember it being a fantastic one, too. I need to find it and read it again.

homepageBook_2_1The Capture by Kathryn Lasky: Oh, the Guardians of Ga’Hoole series. I remember it fondly. I still have pretty much the entire series, also collecting dust on my bookshelf, so I don’t really have an excuse not to read these again.

tch_book1The Maze of Bones by Rick Riordan: I most likely would actually still be reading this series if not for the horrific ending to the Cahills vs. Vespers series. I was mad and stopped reading it to show my disapproval. I sometimes think about starting the series after CvV, but never do. Maybe I should.

indexSavvy by Ingrid Law: This book was a birthday present that I put off reading for years. Then, one day during Christmas break, when all the libraries were closed and I had nothing to read…I picked it up. And adored it. Maybe I still would adore it.

51wz3w5NfxL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Swordbird by Nancy Yi Fan: Tribes of birds at war? My sixth grade self went. Heck yeah! Another book I remember loving, though when I go back and read the reviews now, a lot of people said it’s full of sloppy writing. I don’t remember that, but I wonder if I’ll catch that if I read it again.

9780976808817The Fearless Force by Rushton Howard: This is an independently published book by an author I heard speak. I hadn’t liked his Sebastian Reckless series, but when I read this one I loved it.

indexThe Junie B. Jones Series by Barbara Park: Dad used to read these to me, and I remember we both found them hysterical…but for different reasons. I bet if I would read them again I would get all the little inside jokes that he used to find so funny.

So those are my Top Ten Books I need to read again. There are tons more, of course, but these are the highlights.

Happy Tuesday,

Siggie

(Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. tonight!)

6 thoughts on “Revisiting the Past

  1. I haven’t actually read any of these, although a few people have recommended the Penderwicks to me! I’ve been meaning to check out Savvy too. There are so many great children’s books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

