Quotes? Quotes.

.

5f295-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about it here. This week’s theme is your top ten favorite quotes from books.

I don’t tend to remember quotes that well, and the ones I do tend to be kind of…weird. So bare with me on this, okay?

QuoteDumbledoreWords are our most inexhaustible source of magic, capable of both inflicting harm and remedying it- Albus Dumbledore. From the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

J. K. Rowling came up with like 90% of the quotes that I know and love, but this is my favorite out of all of them. It’s very true, and as a writer I know it’s even more so.

ScorpioRacesQuoteDoes anyone ever ask you why you stay, Sean Kendrick? They do. And why do you? The sky and the sand and the sea and Corr. – Puck Connelly and Sean Kendrick. From the Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

It was a toss-up between this one and “Shh, shh, whispered the sea. I didn’t believe her”. But I finally decided on this one, and I must say, I love it. Maggie Stiefvater has this talent of showing a character’s entire personalities in one sentence, as she did with Sean in this quote. Uh, I love it!

PercyJacksonQuotesThe world was collapsing, and the only thing that really mattered to me was that she was alive. -Percy Jackson. From the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan.

Percabeth was my first OTP. They’ve faded into the background a little bit, to be replaced by Harry and Ginny, then Leo and Calpyso, then Ten and Rose, then FitzSimmons. But I still love them, and I still ship them to this day.

GallagherGirlsQuoteThere are six reasons why anyone does anything. Love. Faith. Greed. Bordem. Fear. Revenge. -Joe Solomon from the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter.

I like this one because it rings true. If you really thing about it, it’s true…everything we do can be connected to one of these, and that thought is both scary and calming at the same time.

EnsnaredQuotes And there, in the midst of blinding of blinding orange, yellow, and white flames, our forever begins. -Alyssa Gardner from the Splintered Trilogy by A. G. Howard.

You have to hand it to her, A. G. Howard knows how to end a novel with a bang. This was the very last sentence of Ensnared, and it left me satisfied. Which is really hard, I’m never satisfied when my favorite books are ending.

FangirlQuotesCath felt like she was swimming in words. Drowning in them, sometimes. -Cather Avery, from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

As a writer, I understand this feeling. Like there was so many words swirling around, threatening to both pull you under and hold you up. It’s an odd, powerful sensation, and what makes it even stranger is not everyone feels this way.

DoctorWhoQuote

In 900 years of time and space I’ve never met anyone who wasn’t Important. -Eleventh Doctor. Matt Smith.

Yes, I am cheating….this is Doctor Who. Not only was Eleven my favorite because his personality was so complex…he got quotes like this. His goodbye speech makes me cry every time I watch it. If Twelve gets even half the amount of spectacular quotes that Eleven did…well, than, BBC is doing a fabulous job.

CinderQuotesVanity is the factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.- Doctor Demitri Erland, The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer.

I don’t really know why I like this quote so much. But it was one of the ones that stood out to me when I was reading it, and I’ve remembered it ever since.

HungerGamesQuote

It takes ten times as long to put yourself back together as it does to fall apart- Finnick Odar. From the Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

This quote is heartbreaking and fantastic and sadly true. This fact is proven every day.

RunningDreamQuote

I realize something. That wasn’t a finish line for me…this is my new starting line. -Jessica from The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanan.

This is the very last line in the book, I believe…and it’s amazing. The Running Dream is a powerful book, and this is the perfect way to end it.

So, these are my favorite quotes (that I can remember). It’s amazing I even managed to scrape this much up, because I really can’t remember stuff like this. Quotes, last names, nothing like that.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

8 thoughts on “Quotes? Quotes.

Leave a Reply

