Uncategorized

To be honored at age fifteen seems like a sticky business

Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_coverWhat was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

This was a spur-of-the-moment choice of a book. I had seen it before, I’ve read the author’s NaNoWriMo pep talk, and I thought…why not? I scooped the entire series off the shelf at the library, and started to read.

This was an interesting take on the dystopian genre, especially as the series go on. June (our heroine), and Day (our hero), work for the different sides of the government. June is the Republic’s prodigy, Day is the most wanted criminal in the world.

They most likely would have never met…then Day breaks into the hospital to get the plague cure for his family. It’s June’s brother, Metias, that is sent to stop him, and Metias is later found dead…with Day as the only suspect.

It’s June that’s sent to find him, posing as a girl living in the slums to try to find him. Without knowing who the other person is, they meet each other…and begin to fall in love.

So, this isn’t the best dystopian book I’ve ever read, but it isn’t the worst, either. The world building is fantastic, the way they live is perfectly believable, and both June and Day are very likeable.

It did seem a bit slow at points, however, and June and Day had very similar personalities. I’m not sure if that was on purpose or not, but it did make their scenes together a bit…not boring, exactly, but slow.

Still, it was a fun read, and not exceedingly heart-retching like some dystopian novels (notice I said “not exceedingly” not just “not”), and Marie Lu ended this series like a boss, which makes me jealous because my endings either end with my main character dead (those are the ones I don’t go back and edit), or a stupid, sappy sort of ending. She did it perfectly.

But, back on to Legend.

My rating mostly lies on the two problems I had. 1) the June/Day personality thing, and 2) She didn’t really let us know the characters before they died. It was more of an “oh that’s sad for so-and-so”, but not a “bawl-your-eyes-out-because-so-and-so-just-died”.

However, this is saved from an only three star review because of one, awesome thing…June and Day are fifteen. That’s right. Fifteen. Not sixteen. Name one other YA dystopian where the characters aren’t sixteen.

★★★⋆

3 1/2 Stars

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

3 thoughts on “To be honored at age fifteen seems like a sticky business

  1. I totally agree with this! I think I gave it 3-stars, too…though I read it soooo long ago, gah, I barely remember. I kind of wanted to finish the trilogy but I FORGOT SO MUCH OF THE PLOT FROM FROM LEGEND. It’s a quandary. But I agree! It’s nice that they’re 15!! I’ve read plenty where the characters are 17 and 18, but 16 is definitely the most common age. *nods*

    Like

Leave a Reply

