So many authors, so little time

5f295-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can out more about it here. This week’s theme is your top ten favorite authors, but I have waaaay to many favorites, so I’m going to cheat and list my favorite authors of 2015.

First up:

VeronicaRossiVeronica Rossi, Author of the Under the Never Sky Series

I can’t believe I haven’t read her stuff before now, because they’re so dang good. Her world building is superb, the way she builds Aria and Perry’s relationship is great, and I just love this series, okay?

MarieLuMarie Lu, Author of the Legend Series and The Young Elites

So I recently read her Legend series, and I loved it, even though it’s not the best book I’ve ever read. It was fun, didn’t have any of the typical YA cliches (that I noticed), and was all in all a good, vacation-type read.

RainbowRowellRainbow Rowell, Author of Fangirl, Eleanor & Park, Attachments, and Landline

So, not only is she the author of my favorite book I’ve read this year, she’s writing a book from that book. That’s right, she’s writing Cath’s Simon Snow fanfic, Carry On. An author cannot get more awesome than that.

ScottWesterfeldScott Westerfeld, Author of the Uglies series, Afterworlds, the Mightnighter’s series, among others.

I finally got around to reading this series, never mind that it’s been lurking around the house for like three years. Someone gave us the complete series (minus Extras…it hadn’t come out yet), and I just never got around to reading it until one day I was complaining that I didn’t have anything to read and Mom shoved the box into my hands.

HollyBlackHolly Black, Author of the Curseworkers series, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, the Darkest Part of the Forest, The Modern Faerie Tale series, among others.

The first book I read by her was the Coldest Girl in Coldtown, which I read early January. I loved it, and quickly devoured the rest of her stuff. She can’t write fast enough…I always need more.

LainiTaylorLaini Taylor, Author of The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, Lips Touch, and the DreamDark series.

I recently read her Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and fell in love. Now the rest of her books are on hold at the library, and I might just have to go and buy Daughter of Smoke and Bone because I loved it so much I want to own it.

KerstinGierKerstin Gier, Author of the Ruby Red series,

She might have more books but if she does they haven’t been translated into English yet. But I fell in love with the way she wrote the time-traveling, and the heroine of the series, Gwyn. It also had an interesting way of wording things that was slightly different, I guess because it was translated into German.

LaurenOliverLauren Oliver, author of Panic, Vanishing Girls, Rooms, and Delirium, among others.

So earlier in this year I read Panic, and I loved the gritty, interesting style of writing, and the very unique idea (apparently it’s based off a Grimm Fairy Tale?). I read both Vanishing Girls and Delirium as well, and I loved them, too.MaggieStiefvaterMaggie Stiefvater, Author of the Scorpio Races, The Wolves of Mercy Falls Series, The Raven Cycle Series, and the Books of Faerie

So, yes, technically I’ve read her stuff for longer than four months. But the only book I read of hers was the Scorpio Races, until early January when I found a nearly unused copy of Shiver at a used bookstore for 50¢, so I bought it. Then after finishing it, I decided I needed to read all of her stuff, not just the Scorpio Races (which is still my favorite).

MarissaMeyerMarissa Meyer, author of the Lunar Chronicles series.

I actually can’t remember when I first started to read her stuff, but it hasn’t been all that long so I think I only started this year. And, as well as her completely amazing sci-fi fairy tale retellings, she’s writing a series that she says will be about super heroes and super villains, which will be completely amazing.

So, that’s my list. Links to the author’s websites are in their name.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “So many authors, so little time

  1. I’ve only read “Landline” by Rainbow Rowell and “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer. I’m sure once I’ve read more of their books they will end up on my top 10 (20? LOL) list too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

