Uncategorized

Chimaera and Seraph, Demons and Angels

200px-DSB_final_6_1Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself? (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

This was a book I had kept hearing about, and pretty much everyone said it was amazing. That made me nervous, because the last book series people kept telling me was “amazing” nearly ripped my heart out with the final book. (It was Harry Potter, and, to be fair, they were amazing).

But this stood up the hype , and surpassed my expectations.

Karou is a blue-haired, sarcastic, tattooed heroine with a funny best friend and a more than slightly unusual family. She was raised by the Chimaera, the half-human, half beasts of Eretz, in a dusty shop between the human world and the Chimaera.

Her family consists of Brimstone, the huge humanoid with a ram’s head, Issa, the woman with a snake body from the waist down, Yasri, the human-like girl with a parrot’s beak, and Twiga. a man with a giraffe-neck neck.

This book was funny and sweet and romantic, and somehow managed to see like it could slip neatly into the real world despite all the “angels” and “demons” running around. Karou is a fantastic main character, we need more best friends like Zuzana, and it was set in Prague, which only made me fall in love with it more.

The problem I had nothing to do with the book at all. It was the synopsis. It fell flat, and if that was all I had to go on I wouldn’t have picked that book out of the hundreds at the library. Don’t go based on the synopsis alone.

And yes, the collecting teeth thing does sound weird. But what’s going to sound even weirder is that’s what makes everything in the story seem perfectly possible. Try this book, you won’t be disappointed.

★★★★★

Five Stars

In other news, I tried to make a souffle yesterday.

tumblr_nmj9bkrXU41uswb2fo2_250

Um.

It didn’t end up like that. It more ended up like this.

tumblr_myu53j7DET1sibxdao1_500They weren’t burned, per say. They were a nice golden brown color. However, as soon as I took them from the oven they deflated. They did it so fast it would have actually been rather cool to watch if I wasn’t so disappointed.

Apparently I am not souffle girl. Or maybe I am, I just need to use a different recipe and figure out why they deflated. //sighs And I want to go to school for this, people! I must be crazy. But it really is quite fun.

Also, I’ve got the end-of-the-year Improv show tonight, and I’m crossing my fingers I don’t end up in Moving Bodies because I really do not like that game. Moving bodies is a game where four people are up on stage to do a two-person scene. Two of the people can’t move, they can only talk. They can’t move at all unless moved by their…movers, or the other two people up on stage.

No matter the suggestion, one of the movers will try to make it romantic. Especially if it’s two boys doing the moving. Which makes it insanely awkward for me, since I don’t tend to step forward and claim the mover’s spot fast enough.

So I’m crossing my fingers that I don’t get put in that, and I end up in Ferris Wheel, English-Gibberish, Three Scene or Half Life. I like all of those.

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

6 thoughts on “Chimaera and Seraph, Demons and Angels

Leave a Reply

