Uncategorized

Sisters and bitterness and vanishing

indexDara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

I had high expectations for this book. I adore Lauren Oliver, and I fully expected this book to be amazing.

It was and it wasn’t.

The book is about two sisters: Nicole (Nick), and Dara. Nick is the good girl of the family. She follows the rules and listens (for the most part) to her parents. Dara is wild and messy and very, very alive, always wanting to live her life to the fullest.

Dara and Nick used to be super close, until Dara stole Nick’s best friend (Parker), and they had a fight. Now they’re barely on speaking terms, and when they do speak it tends to revolve back into fighting. It’s one of those relationships were each sister would kill to be each other, because both think the other is better, prettier, more loved by everyone.

The way Lauren Oliver described everything was amazing. She is the master at somehow managing to perfectly describe something…anything, with only a few words. I hope hope hope I’ll be able to do that someday, because right now I feel overly descriptive.

My problems lay with the plot. Oh, there’s a car accident? Let’s give you a post on a website and say no more about it. It seemed to kind of jump around, it would mention one thing than not touch back on it for a while.

But the ending…oh, the ending. Outside I looked completely normal, but inside I was like this.

Lydia_crying

I was crying internally. It was perfect and it was awful and it was very, very interesting.

So, this might not be the best Lauren Oliver book ever, but it’s worth a read and it’s been out long enough that there shouldn’t be that many holds on it at the library. You really have no excuse not to.

★★★⋆

Three and a half stars

Also…Age of Ultron. Tonight. In Imax 3D. Hydra shirt is ready and waiting, and I am unbelievably excited.

And not only that, but tomorrow I’m going to something that’s kind of like a mini writer’s conference for students. And I might get to meet the Marissa Meyer. Even if I don’t get to take her workshop, I am going to get a book signed. I AM NOT wasting this opportunity to meet one of my favorite authors.

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “Sisters and bitterness and vanishing

  1. Ohhhh, you lucky thing meeting Marissa Meyer. XD

    Ahhh! I loved this book! It’s my favourite Oliver book so far, but that’s because I’m a sucker for that kind of ending. xDXD I love her writing too!! It’s so visual and gorgeous and omg, I covet those description skills.

    Like

Leave a Reply

