Uncategorized

Talon, take 2

11863619Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can’t forget the sacrifice made for her by the human boy who could have killed her—Garret Xavier Sebastian, a soldier of the dragonslaying Order of St. George, the boy who saved her from a Talon assassin, knowing that by doing so, he’d signed his own death warrant.

Determined to save Garret from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the Order’s headquarters. With assassins after them and Ember’s own brother helping Talon with the hunt, the rogues find an unexpected ally in Garret and a new perspective on the underground battle between Talon and St. George.

A reckoning is brewing and the secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly. Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day…or start an all-out war? (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

This is book two in the Talon saga.

Ember is on the run from Talon, and, on top of that, she has decided to try to save Garret from execution. Riley, or Cobalt, as the dragons know him, reluctantly agrees to help her.

Basically, what I thought would end up being the plot of the book (breaking Garret out), turned out to be only like 1/4th of the book. The rest of the book was running from the Order and going to Los Vegas to get two hatchlings that have been reported by locals (I believe the actual words were ” ****ing huge reptile”).

So, the plot kind of meandered, but Garret and Ember were undeniably cute. My reactions throughout the book were something like:

Me: She’s risking life and limb to save him!

Me: GARRET  STOP BEING SO CUTE

Me: GAARREET.

Me: Just kiss her already!

I, uh, am emotionally attached to this particular pairing.

My problems mostly lie with the characters. Ember didn’t seem like her spunky, fiery self. Actually, though, now that I think about it, her brother has just betrayed her, she’s on the run from TWO different organizations, and her boyfriend is about to be executed. Still, though, I’d like to see her a little more like the girl we know and love from Talon.

Garret’s cute and brooding and truly cares for Ember, and he’s trying his hardest to get over the whole “My-girlfriend-is-a-dragon-and-she-could-eat-me-if-she-wanted-to” thing. But still, he felt a bit underdeveloped, and I would like to see more from him in Warrior.

I can’t bring myself to like Riley. There’s just something about him that ticks me off.

Dante was as big an ass as he was in Talon. He deserves to be smacked.

Basically, the book was good, with a few little things with the characters that turned me off, but otherwise, it was great. It’s Julie Kawaga’s book, so I think it’s the law that it has to be great. Anything less than that would make the world explode.

So more character development for Garret, more of Ember’s old personality, and this book will be just as good as the first.

★★★

Three Stars

So, I’m leaving for San Fransisco today, and I’m ready to go! New book on my Kindle, a couple Doctor Who episodes downloaded onto a tablet Dad’s letting me borrow, and snacks(Pop rocks and freeze-dried apples. I am insanely cool, can’t you tell?).

Also, people keep telling me to bring them back chocolate, so of course I have to go to Ghirardelli. I wouldn’t want to disappoint them.

On the topic of Julie Kagawa, she’s finally announced the final Iron Fey book, the Iron Warrior. It comes out this October. AND ETHAN LIVES. THANK THE GODS OF BOOKS AND CHARACTERS AND WHATEVER ELSE, BECAUSE I THOUGHT HE WOULDN’T.

Ahem. I’m a bit excited.

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

Leave a Reply

