Uncategorized

Fantastic Cookbooks to Drool Over

5f295-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly blogging meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more about it here. This week is a free theme, meaning it can be Top-Ten-Whatever-I-Want. And I realized…I’m a book blog, plus a teenage foodie, so I need to start posting some stuff about cookbooks. Right?

Anyways, here are my Top Ten Fantastic Cookbooks to Drool Over.

514kWfKalGL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Bake it Like You Mean It by Gesine Bullock-Prado

This cookbook is full of wonderful, fancy-looking cakes and they’re all quite delicious. The ones I’ve tried, at least. This is also one of those cookbooks that are fun to just flip through, because the pictures are gorgeous.

index

Pure Vanilla by Shauna Sever

Everything in the cookbook is delicious, and, like the title said, has vanilla. Both the Twinkie Bunt Cake and the Cloud Cake are amazing, and the Vanilla Bean Doughnuts are to die for. The only problem with this book is that it’s sold out wherever I try to find it.

index

Molly Moon’s Homemade Ice Cream by Neitzel

Molly Moon’s always has a line out the door, no matter the season, and when you try their ice cream you know why. Creamy and rich and flavorful, this ice cream is not only insanely delicious, they have flavors like Salted Licorice and Strawberry Balsamic. The recipes are easy to follow and are amazing.

index

More from Macrine by Leslie Mackie

Another Seattle bakery, this is the second cookbook from Macrina, but I prefer it over the first. The car-co-doodle cookies are completely amazing, and the granola cookies are full of enough healthy stuff that you can convince yourself that you’re eating something healthy, so you can have four or five.

51j7VUvineL

The Cook’s Illustrated Cookbook

Not only does this cookbook have 500+ recipes, it tells you how they developed the recipes to get them to the best they could be. I love it. And their meringue recipe is the best in the world.

index

The Secret Lives of Baked Goods by Jessie Olson Moore

I love this one because it’s a cookbook full of well-loved treats, but it also tells you the back story (or should I say bake story? Heh heh) of the recipe. It’s super duper cool.

index

The Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg

This isn’t a cookbook, exactly, but it’s super useful. It’s a book full of ingredients, everything from Apricots to Zest, Lime. But that’s not the cool part. The cool part is that each ingredient has a list of flavors that goes well with that dish, as well as little hints from well-known chefs.

51Lozo8WYOL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

The Art and Soul of Baking by Cindy Mushet

This cookbook has recipes for everything from chocolate chip cookies to tuiles to passion fruit souffle. Simple to complicated. It’s great.

index

Sugar Baby by Gesine Bullock-Prado

This is one of the best candy cookbooks ever. The recipes are easy to follow, the candy turns out amazing, and the pictures are gorgeous.

index

Top Pot: Hand-Forged Doughnuts by Mark and Michael Klebeck

A cookbook from the best doughnut place I have ever had the pleasure of going too, and the recipes are great. Both raised, cake, and old-fashioned doughnuts, all of which are delicious. Duh.

So, yeah. That’s my list

San Fransisco’s been good so far. We went into the city yesterday and cool, hip teenager that I am, I went to California Academy of the Sciences and saw baby cuttle fish and an albino crocodile, then to Ghirardelli for a chocolate milkshake. Then, thanks to confusion and bad directions, we speed-walked easily three miles before finally getting where we were supposed to go.

Two days ago I found this cute little Indie bookstore and bought a book. Dorothy Must Die. It’s good so far, and I’ve placed Wicked Must Rise on hold at the library. And Illusionarium came out today! Finally, I’m so excited! I’ve been waiting for this book for years.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

8 thoughts on “Fantastic Cookbooks to Drool Over

  1. Woohoo Aine!! I’m so excited for Illusionariam too! Loved that you did cookbooks this time! 🙂 Now I have to check all of them out for sure! 😉

    Like

  2. THIS IS A CRUEL CRUEL POST. HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME??? *cries and dreams of donuts and ice cream* So apart from drooling all over my laptop and making an awful mess…this is a fabulous post. 😉 I wanna be a foodie. Can I be a foodie when I grow up?

    Like

Leave a Reply

