Oz has taken a nosedive

18053060I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

I got this book at a cute little indie bookstore in San Fransisco. It had one of those little review slips that said it was a really great book, with an interesting take on Oz. Plus, with a title like that, I can’t NOT get it, right?

Amy comes across instantly as a sarcastic, always annoyed teenage girl. She’s the girl who gets picked on in class because of her clothes and were she lives. She gets suspended for punching a pregnant girl (long story, but she didn’t really punch her), and is trapped in the trailer were she lives during a tornado.

Naturally, when she lands, she finds herself in Oz.

But Oz is different then the world written by L. Frank Baum. The Scarecrow is a cruel mad scientist. The Tin Man is now the head of a ruthless police force. The Lion is a monster, feeding on the citizens of the countryside. And Dorothy? Dorothy is now the ruler of Oz, She hides a thick layer of cruelness over a thin veneer of kindness, PermaSmile firmly intact. She will murder and torture her citizens as long as SHE is not the one doing it.

Wicked might be Good. Good might be Wicked. The whole world has flopped upside down.

The book was really interesting. Too see a world that I know well, that EVERYONE knows well, and see it basically turn into a horror show.

Amy was an interesting main character. She’s sarcastic and slightly insecure, and when she lands, instead of following the yellow brick road, she goes in a different direction. DO YOU KNOW HOW UNUSUAL THAT IS FOR A YA CHARACTER? They love traipsing about going where you know they’re not supposed to go. Sure, Amy still ends up in trouble, but that’s just because she landed in Oz.

So it was a good book. I felt like a dragged a little in places, but I never got bored.

★★★★

Four Stars

So I’m back from San Fransisco. I feel like I’m going to sleep the rest of the month, now that I’m back home and in my own bed.

In fact, I might just go back to bed now.

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

7 thoughts on “Oz has taken a nosedive

  1. I wanted to like it. I really really wanted to. I just couldn’t. I couldn’t get past the first like eight chapters.

    Like

      1. No, that’s true. But my friend loved it. I can’t even put my finger on what it was, so I don’t even have a good reason for it. 😊 such is life.

        Like

  2. Yesss, this is basically how I felt too!! I actually loved the sequel even more, because there’s sooo much world building in it! I LOVE it when fairy tales (well, is the original technically a “fairy tale”? meh. you know what I mean xD) are twisted! It’s epic and I love it. I love creeptastic tales. heeh. (I’m a very sad little bean.) OH. And the snark was so refreshing!! I LOVE AMY.

    Like

Leave a Reply

