In Which I Kidnap The Coffee Book Tag

CoffeeBookTagSo, I wasn’t exactly tagged for this, per say. It’s more like I saw it on another blog (Paper Fury) and kidnapped it. BUT IT’S JUST SO COOL. It combines two of my favorite things; books and hot beverages.

Now, I don’t tend to drink a lot of coffee. Tea, yes. Hot chocolate, yes. But coffee? Not so much. If we’re out I’ll get a latte or a mocha or some other coffee drink that has more sugar and cream than actual coffee. But at home? Not so much. It might partly be because I tend to feel slightly sick if I have caffeine.

Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. It’s a good series, yes, but at the same time, it just has so much pain and suffering in it that thirteen-year-old me was slightly traumatized. I have never read a series slower than I did The Hunger Games.

Peppermint Mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Maybe it’s only around here, but I tend to see The Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan pop up around Christmas, because people are buying it for their kids for Christmas. Every bookstore you look in will have some of his books on display.

Hot Chocolate: What is your favorite children’s book?

That’s easy. The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall. I adored that book when I was younger, and I still dust it off from time to time because it’s just so cute, and I reminds me of being on summer vacation as a little kid.

Double Shot of Espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Let me just say that people that can handle a double shot of espresso without looking like they’re vibrating have my respect. But anyways, Half Bad and Half Wild by Sally Green. Something about her writing style just makes you nervous for Nathan (who by the way is a poor, tortured adorable little antihero whom I love), and you just keep reading and reading and reading because you desperately want to know what happens next.

Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

Right now I’m seeing Paper Towns by John Green everywhere. Maybe it’s because there’s a movie coming out? I don’t know. But I pity it because it’s getting the movie poster as a cover and it’s not even a great poster, at that. Poor little book.

That Hipster Coffee Shop: Give a book by an indie author a shout-out.

The Fearless Force by Rushton Howard. It’s about a group of twelve-year-old superheroes and it takes place over a twenty-four hour period, which is super cool. I think he said that there’s a second book for this series in production, but I’m not certain.

Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

Here’s the thing: unless I’m asleep on my feet, I always get decaf. Caffeine doesn’t sit to well with me. When I drink coffee, I want the flavor of the coffee (however muddled by sugar and cream and vanilla). For the book, The 100 by Kass Morgan. I wanted post-apocalyptic survivor, I got bad romance.

The Perfect Blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling. The Deathly Hallows, especially. THE TEARS. THE ANGER. THE TEARS. Basically, I sobbed like a baby throughout the scene in The Half-Blood Prince all the way through Deathly Hallows. I still want more! I want to find out more about what happened after Hogwarts and what Hogwarts is like now that Voldemort doesn’t attack every year. I WANT A SERIES WITH THE NEXT GENERATION, DANG IT.

Green Tea: Name a book or series that’s quietly beautiful.

Paint the Wind by Pam Munoz Ryan. It’s a MG novel, sure, but it’s fantastic and sad and beautiful, and it has wild horses. I love it.

Chai Tea: Name a book or series that makes you dream of far-off places.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. It’s set in Prague, which sounds beautiful and super cool. I kind of want to visit Prague now. Never mind that I can only speak English fluently. Also, I can swear in Mandarin (thanks, Firefly), but that wouldn’t help that much, either.

Earl Grey: Name your favorite classic.

All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot. Is this a classic? I don’t know. It’s also nonfiction, but my Dad says that he thinks it’s a classic so there you go. I loved this series and I still do, because it’s just so real. And it’s a nonfiction book that reads like a novel, which is great.

ITag

{Ari @ Beautifully Flawed Photo, I don’t care that you post poems and photos, you’re doing this, dang it}{The Time Traveling Writer @ The Time Traveling Writer’s Blog}{Lizzy @ My Little Book Blog}{Erika @ Erika the Bibliophile}

If I didn’t tag you and you want to do this, go ahead! That’s what I did.

I should add that I know Ari from Beautifully Flawed Photo in real life. I’m not telling some stranger off the internet to do a tag that doesn’t fit their blog. Basically, I’m super curious because I don’t tend to know what books she likes because she’s not into a lot of super popular ones.

I mean, I could just talk to her in real life, but I’m lazy and this is funner.

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

7 thoughts on “In Which I Kidnap The Coffee Book Tag

  1. I was kind of unsatisfied with the ending for Deathly Hallows, too. I still liked it, but I wished the epilogue could have been longer.

    Like

  2. YAY! I’m glad you stole this one. 😉 It’s sooo delicious. AND ZOMG YOU JUST MENTIONED NATHAN. HELLO, MY FAVOURITE PERSON. He is a totally tortured little adorable soul. I just want to kidnap him and give him a better home so he can be okay and away from his meanie author. *hugs Nathan* Anyway. I want to visit Prague too. But mostly for that cafe they went to with the goulash and coffee? Yes please.

    Like

Leave a Reply

