Uncategorized

Seattle, zombie-ghosts, and a severed head.

91775c+CR0LSam leads a pretty normal life. He may not have the most exciting job in the world, but he’s doing all right—until a fast food prank brings him to the attention of Douglas, a creepy guy with an intense violent streak.

Turns out Douglas is a necromancer who raises the dead for cash and sees potential in Sam. Then Sam discovers he’s a necromancer too, but with strangely latent powers. And his worst nightmare wants to join forces . . . or else.

With only a week to figure things out, Sam needs all the help he can get. Luckily he lives in Seattle, which has nearly as many paranormal types as it does coffee places. But even with newfound friends, will Sam be able to save his skin? (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

Lish McBride is a local author, she lives in the Seattle area, and her book is set in the Seattle area, too. Which meant I spent the entire book going, “Oh, I know where he lives!” “Hey, they’re in Ballard”, and “How in the world did a kid that works at a fast food restaurant manage to get over to Bainbridge island? it’s like twenty dollars a ticket.Both ways.”

Anyways, the story itself is about a Seattle college dropout, Sam. He lives a perfectly normal life, until he’s beat up leaving work and he gets his friend’s head delivered to him in a box. Oh, and the head? It’s still alive. And they’re keeping it in a bowling ball bag. The head was brought back to life by a necromancer, who wants to meet Sam.

So Sam heads over to the meeting point (Woodland Park Zoo. Another place that I frequently haunt in the summer), and is told by the man that Sam is a necromancer, himself. And a quite powerful one. So Sam goes searching for more information, and that is when it starts to go downhill for our hero.

If you want some dark, depressing horror-type paranormal, this book is not for you. This book is funny (if the talking-severed-head-in-a-bowling-ball-bag didn’t give it away), and that is what pulls the reader in. Sam is a sarcastic, lovable hero. All the characters are fantastic; Sam’s friends, Brooke, Frank, and Ramon, the were-hybrid, Brid, and I want to be Ms. W. when I grow up. Seriously.

My problem with the book lies with the POV. I normally don’t have problems with tenses and POVs and stuff. If the book’s good, I don’t care. But Sam’s POV is in first person past tense, which, y’know, is pretty normal for a YA book. But then, it suddenly switches from first to third person for Douglas’s POV chapters. Then it switches back to first person for Sam. Then back to third for Brid. Then back to first for Sam. I understand the author’s reasoning behind it, that I would make it easier to tell who was narrating, but it made the flow of the book choppy, and it was distracting when it happened.

But other than that, the book was quite good.

Now all I need to do is find the second book…

★★★★

Four stars.

So, I just found out that a book that I like (Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis) has a sequel that I didn’t know about. It’s called A Handful of Dust or something along those lines, and I have placed a hold on it at the library but I might possibly need to go and buy it today. At once.

Also: I keep hearing that you should do some sort of social media thing on top of your blog. I can’t decide which I should do; Twitter, Tumblr, or Instagram. To do Instagram, I would need to dig up some deeply-buried photography skills I’m not even sure I have.

I also need to start posting my reviews on Goodreads. I do post them on Amazon, but I think more people would read them off of Goodreads.

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “Seattle, zombie-ghosts, and a severed head.

Leave a Reply

