Uncategorized

Half Wild? More like Half AMAZING

10341592“You will have a powerful Gift, but it’s how you use it that will show you to be good or bad.”

In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he’s on the run–but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

When I went to go and read reviews, I saw people didn’t really like it. Why is that? This book was just as amazing as the first, and my adorable little antihero is getting darker. The first part of the book is peppered with his thoughts, which make him seem wild and unhinged.

The writing style is certainly unconventional, but that’s because it follows Nathan’s thinking process, which is strange and disjointed and choppy, so it the story reads like that, as well. But it doesn’t take away from the writing at all, instead it adds to it, making it so much more interesting.

And Gabriel. Poor Gabriel. Nathan was so mean to him in the book. Not intentionally, of course, but Gabriel has a crush on my before mentioned adorable little antihero, and in some parts Nathan will lead him on, and in others he will cause  Gabriel to crash and burn. I spent the whole book wincing for him.

There’s also a new character, Nesbitt. Nesbitt is…Nesbitt. He’s the servant of a powerful black witch, is funny, and I couldn’t help but pronounce his name “Nesbutt” for the first 1/3 or so that he was in the book. Slightly bad,yes.

Annalise is in this book, too, but I still don’t know how I feel about her. I can’t decide if I like her and Nathan together or not. I might be rooting for Nathan/Gabriel slightly more. But I also really want to see Annalise become this awesome, tough little witch, so I won’t judge her yet.

This book also threw another set of cliches out the window. Women tend to be more powerful as witches than men. Nathan kills things. Willingly. And he doesn’t spend half the book panicking about it.

And, he embraces the animal side of himself, which shouldn’t be so shocking in YA, but it was.

This book dabbles in gray areas. Nathan isn’t bad, but he isn’t good either. The black witches aren’t evil, but they don’t want to go out and save puppies. But neither are the white witches. The white witches, the hunters especially, can be just as “evil” as the black witches are said to be.

As for the plot, I didn’t find it quite as interesting as I did the first book. But all the new, interesting characters make up for it, and there were a couple of really great battles in there, as well.

To sum it up in a sentence: Not quite as good as Half Bad, but still quite fantastic.

FiveStars

In other news, I am getting more excited for my NaNo novel, which is great. Also, I found out that with WordPress you can actually write posts in advance and schedule them to post at a certain time! I’m writing today’s post on Tuesday. Last Tuesday. So basically I’m writing this from the past and posting it in the future.

Is that confusing? That is confusing.

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “Half Wild? More like Half AMAZING

  1. I’m sooo glad you like this book. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. *flails for like nine hundred years* It’s one of my top favourite series EVER and I think the story is getting so much darker and emotional and more poignant. I love the grey areas. I ADORE THEM. For a book categorised into “white” and “black” witches, I think they should all just admit they’re all GREY WITCHES and get over it. :O I love Gabriel, but I agree that Nathan leads him on without committing to anything. It’s a bit of a frustrating love-triangle but afdkslfdjl I still have so much love for adorable little Nathan.

    Like

    1. I KNOW! It’s like they’re trying to fit the witches into two neat little boxes so if something goes bad they have someone to blame. And is it a love triangle? ’cause I don’t think it will be Nathan deciding between Annalise and Gabriel. He’s already chosen Annalise. He’s just not being very nice and letting Gabriel know.

      Like

Leave a Reply

