Uncategorized

Aliens are apparently not friendly.

16101128After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

Normally when I get a book, I tend to only get books that I’ve already read. Mostly because if I have the money to spend on a book, I want to make sure it’s a book I will actually like, and not spend $15 on a book that’s horrible. This book was one of the times that I didn’t get a book that I’ve already read.

The gamble payed off.

I can’t remember the last time I read an post-alien invasion that was actually decent and not a horrible sappy romance. All the characters are interesting and unique. The main character, Cassie, is one of those heroines you can’t help but root for, because she’s so fiercely determined.

The aliens haven’t been going easy on our delicate human selves. They’ve sent four waves of terror, pain, and disease our way, and you can’t trust anyone. The guy with a gunshot wound might be about to kill you, the supplies you found might be a trap, anyone you see could be one of the aliens in disguise.

My problems?

I have three.

The first is the way the POV jumps. It made me very confused, because when it jumps I spend a few pages trying to figure out if it’s Cassie’s POV or Zombie’s. It would make the flow of the writing jerk to a stop for a while I tried to figure out who was narrating. Once I figured it out, I would have to go out and reread the last pages because I couldn’t remember anything.

Second problem?

The aliens. I wanted creepy aliens, not weird parasitic things that burrowed into people’s brains. I was expecting this book to have more Doctor Who-type aliens not…whatever they actually are. Maybe in the next book?

Third problem?

The romance. I was hoping, fingers crossed, that this would be a book where romance, if it happened, wouldn’t be at the forefront. Now, don’t get my wrong, the alien invasion is still the main theme, but at times it does feel like it’s sort of shunted aside for the romance in question. Which is slightly frustrating.

But I’m not disappointed that I read this, and while it’s not the best book in the world, it’s still rather interesting, both the idea and the writing.

FourStarsSo, I am sitting here staring at the computer, and I can think of nothing else to say, other than…I am tired.

Oh! So, for the last few day’s I’ve been slowly working through all of the Epic Reads videos, and one of the Tea Time videos they explained how to get stickers off the covers of books! You blow dry the stickers for a minute or to, and they peel right off. No sticky circle left behind. It’s a miracle, I tell ya. It even makes up for the odd looks you get when people see you blow drying books.

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “Aliens are apparently not friendly.

  1. I need to try blow drying books then! I have SO many ex-library books that are totally marred with awful stickers. I wonder if it’d work…*trots off to try*

    OH. I want to read this! I specifically want to read it before the movie comes out, but, gah, yours is like one of the only positive reviews I’ve read for it! WEIRDNESS, right?!! It sounds really incredible and I can’t wait for creepy mean aliens and an awesome determined heroine. I need to bump this up my TBR.

    Like

Leave a Reply

