I want to fall in love over music and comic books

71LkLmxqgjLTwo misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. (synopsis taken from Goodreads)

Yes, I know…I willingly read a romance, and what’s more, I liked it. Cue the shocked gasps.

But I found this love story quite adorable. It went from The-Weird-Girl-Who-Sits-Beside-Me-On-The Bus-And-The-Quiet-Asian-Kid-Who-Reads-Comics to Hey-They’re-Kinda-Cute to I-Think-Might-Have-Fallen-In-Love-With-You. See? Cute.

Really, though. The way their relationship started was Eleanor reading Park’s comics over his shoulder. Park starting bringing Eleanor her own comics to read, then they started to listen to music, and began to like each other.

I seriously want to fall in love like that. That’s my new life goal, along with learning to play Bubble Soccer and publishing a novel and opening a bakery.

I have a lot of life goals.

But back on topic, the book was super engaging. Toward the middle, during the I-Don’t-Know-If-I-Like-You-Or-Not phase the book’s flow starts to kind of slow down a bit, but it picks right back up a little while later. I was also super glad this wasn’t one of the typical Nerdy-Girl-Falls-In-Love-With-Seemingly-Shallow-Jock-Only-To-Find-He-Has-Hidden-Depths-And-Maybe-Is-Even-A-Nerd-In-Hiding. No, both Eleanor and Park are nerds, which makes the whole story that much cuter. And, //gasp, their parents are actually involved, and not in the typical I-Forbid-You-From-Seeing-Each-Other-Way.

Park’s parents are both pretty supportive of his relationship with Eleanor, his dad especially. Eleanor’s family, on the other hand? Her mom most likely would be fine with her dating Park. But Eleanor’s stepdad is another thing. Eleanor’s stepdad is both emotionally and physically abusive, an alcoholic, and hates Eleanor. It’s never really said why, but I have a feeling it’s because Eleanor’s the oldest, and therefor the hardest to sway. It made me feel really bad for Eleanor, especially toward the end.

Something that put me off slightly was the swearing. Now, swearing doesn’t phase me, but it does get kind of distracting when a character swears very badly ever sentence. It makes it nervewracking as well when your friend’s ten year old little sister is trying to see what you’re reading over your shoulder. So just be warned.

But, all in all, this a cute, wonderful love story, and I can see why people like it.

FourStarsSo, just got back from my Grandparents, and I’m craving chocolate milk for some reason. Maybe because I need both more blood sugar and calcium? I don’t know why, I just want it.

Also, the third Ms. Marvel volume was released, and I didn’t know about it! I might have to go down to Barnes and Noble and read it so I don’t have to wait for it to come in to the library.

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

4 thoughts on “I want to fall in love over music and comic books

  1. Lovely review! I honestly have been dying to read this book and this review makes me want to read it even more.
    And I have some of the same life goals! Except along with writing a novel (probably more than one, to be honest), I also want open a little bookshop with a joint cafe, like Barnes & Noble or Books A Million.

    Like

  2. I loved this one!! I’m not as much of a crazy fan as everyone else, I feel, buuut it was super cute and the comic part was AMAZING and I loved how much heart the story had. *sobs a little* The ending MESSED ME UP THO. I want answers. I want closure. XD

    And now, thanks a lot, I want chocolate milk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

