Paper towns of paper people

PaperTowns2009_6AWho is the real Margo?

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

So, normally the more people tell me to read something, the less I want to read it, does that make sense? Maybe I’m too stubborn or something, but it tends to be the more people who tell me how amazing/awesome/epic/wonderful a book is the less likely it is that I’m going to pick it up the next time I go to a library or bookstore.

Well, Paper Towns is one of those times that I’ve stubbornly shoved my stubbornness back and picked up a book that people keep telling me to read. I think I know why, actually; one of my friends told me that no one in her family wants to see the Paper Towns movie, and since all of our other friends don’t want to either, I basically have to go with her to see it or she’ll be forever disappointed. And since I have a rule not to see a movie based on a book before I’ve read the actual book, I kind of had to read this first.

It was good. I can see why people like John Green.

Was it amazing and heart-rending and made me want to go out and buy every John Green book he ever wrote and will ever write again? No.

The book was good, yes, but it wasn’t amazingly fantastic.

I thought this book was about a road trip, so you can imagine why I was so confused that the road trip only took up about 1/8th of the book. Maybe that’s more a misunderstanding on my part, but from what I heard about it I thought the whole thing was a road trip.

And Margo. You know, I can see why she did was she did, but at the same time, I think she was selfish for doing it. And, in doing it, she made Q. think she had committed suicide and had made her web of clues so he could find her body. She made him panic for much of the book.

But the book was funny in parts, and the little bit of the book that was the road trip was the funniest. I also spent the entire book going, “Is that really the way teenage boys think?” I asked my brother, he looked at me for a second, totally confused, and said “yes.”

So let’s leave it at this; the book was good, It wasn’t boring, but it wasn’t the most amazing book on the face of the earth.

FourStars

Now that I’ve finished Paper Towns, the next book on my TBR list is The Cage by Megan Shepherd, which the library is taking forever and a day to get in. I might have to go and buy it, because I cannot stand the waiting.

Also, I want gelato.

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

4 thoughts on “Paper towns of paper people

  1. I adore John Green. XD I think TFIOS is my favourite and then Looking for Alaska tied with Paper Towns for second place. I feel like, after a while, his characters all are sort of the same??? BUT. That saying, I do so love them all and I think I’ve read ALL his books now. A little bit obsessed, yus.

    I agree about Margo. :(((

    Like

  2. I also avoid things that people rave about. I just worry that the book or TV show or movie isn’t going to live up to the hype. I read Paper Towns because one of my fellow booksellers LOVED it, but I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as other people seem to. It was okay, but it’s not my favourite John Green, and it’s definitely not my favourite book ever. Good review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

