Uncategorized

Unpopular Opinions Tag

So, I was tagged for this by Cait @ Paper Fury. The tag was created by TheBookArcher.

So, we all know that voicing an opinion that someone might not agree with is slightly dangerous, right? In Cait’s (quite spectacular) words, it can be as dangerous as poking a dragon with a spork. This tag doesn’t have any rules or anything, so I’M FREE TO DO WHAT A PLEASE.

Ahem.

Anyways.

1. A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

I tend to like most popular books ’cause they got popular for a reason, y’know? But I’d have to say Matched by Allie Condie. The book was boring and choppy and I couldn’t make it through the series. It bored me to death and I started “forgetting” it when we went somewhere.

2. A POPULAR BOOK/SERIES EVERYONE HATES BUT YOU LOVE

The Talon series by Julie Kagawa. I have no idea why so many people don’t like it. Maybe because it feels a bit tamer than her other books or something, but I still really like them.

3. A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE PROTAGONIST ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DIDN’T WANT THEM TO BE WITH.

I actually can’t think of something where that happened.

4. A POPULAR GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY READ.

Romance. I never read it, and avoid it like poison. I think the one and only romance I’ve read willingly was Eleanor & Park and that’s because it’s Rainbow Rowell and Fangirl was amazing.

5. A POPULAR CHARACTER THAT YOU HATE/DISLIKE.

Gale from The Hunger Games. Something about him just rubs me the wrong way. I don’t know what it is, exactly, but I disliked him from the first book.

6. A POPULAR AUTHOR YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.

Allie Condie again, or possibly C. S. Lewis. For whatever reason I didn’t really like the Narnia series when I was a kid. I was weird, considering all of my other friends loved them.

7. A POPULAR TROPE YOU’RE TIRED OF READING.

LOVE TRIANGLES. Seriously, enough of these.

Also, absent parents. Most parents don’t only show up to give you food and/or ground you if you climb through the window at two AM.

8. A POPULAR SERIES YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

Not exactly a series, but I have no interest in reading any books that have any life-threatening illness. I just don’t. I won’t willingly sign on for tragedy, peoples.

9. A SHOW/MOVIE YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK.

The 100 t.v. show was infinitely better than the book by Cass Morgan. Also, I liked The Maze Runner movie than I did the book. The book was good, but I felt it had a few unnessicary scenes/details. A there was little to no character development.

10.  A POPULAR STYLE OF COVER YOU CAN’T STAND.

Covers that are so muddled and jam packed with stuff it looks cluttered. Think the first Harry Potter cover. Now, I love the book, but the cover is too full. I don’t get why people feel the need to shove as much stuff on a cover as possible.

ITag

Ari @ Beautifully Flawed Photo || Tina @ Read the Bloody Book || Cat @ Thoughts From a Geek Girl (Anything to get you blogging again, dang it) || and, finally, The Time Traveling Writer @ The Time Traveling Writer’s Blog

If you’ve already been tagged or don’t want to do the tag, just ignore this. If I didn’t tag you and you do, go ahead!

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. Omg, we have SO MANY OF THE SAME OPINIONS THOUGH. I absolutely agree about Gale (ergh *shakes fist at him*) and Talon. I love Talon! I freaked out with happiness when I won a signed copy of Rogue. I can’t understand the hate. It was so exciting and funny and the covers are so SHINY. Ahem.
    I loved the Maze Runner movie SO MUCH (I loved the book a lot too, though) but then, erm, I’m not sure if I loved the movie or the actors. So many adorable actors.
    Eh and no to Ally Condie. Just…nope. I tried twice and it ain’t clicking.

    Like

    1. It seems like everyone loves Gale, even if they don’t ship him and Katniss. I just…don’t. And a signed copy of Rogue? That’s awesome!
      Everything I read by Ally Condie is kind of boring. It’s got all this potential, but nope.

      Like

Leave a Reply

