In which I steal the Bookshelf Tag

thebookshelftagThis is another tag I wasn’t actually tagged for but it was too cool to pass up. I’ve kidnapped the Coffee Book Tag and stole the Bookshelf Tag. Once again, I got this tag from Paper Fury (Cait gets the coolest tags! I just can’t help myself).

Maybe I should make a book tag one of these days so I don’t have to steal it.

Anyways.

Describe Your Bookshelf and Where You Got It From

It’s actually bookshelves. I’ve got two, plus two shelf-shelves. They bookshelves are short (they only have three rows) and are on opposite sides of my room. The shelves are over my desk. They’re all sort of the same cream-tan color of wood.

I got them from Ikea. Where else?

How do you organize your books?

Alphabetically. But I’m considering doing by color because right now my shelves look…unorganized. And by color would be prettier, I think.

What’s the thickest/biggest book on your shelf?

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

What’s the thinnest book on your shelf?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy or Trumpet of the Swan. I’m feeling too lazy to actually go and check which one is thinner.

Is there a book you received as a birthday gift?

People don’t give me books for my birthday (it’s horrible, really). Instead I get Amazon and Barnes and Noble giftcards that I use to buy books. But I’m like 90% sure I got Princess Academy was a birthday gift.

Is there a book from a friend on your shelf?

My cousin gave me Flipped (she read it and didn’t like it so I got it), and a friend gave me that Dear America book The Fences Between Us when we were like twelve.

Most expensive book?

I tend to buy books used, and if I do buy them new, I get them in paperbacks. So I’d have to say either Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell or All Fall Down by Ally Carter. Both I bought new, and both are hardbacks.

The last book you read on your shelf?

Days of Blood and Starlight is the last book I read that I own. I the last book I read is Uninvited which is a library book and on my special library book shelf.

Do you have copies of more than one book?

I’ve got double copies of the last three Harry Potter books. I replaced by paperbacks with hardbacks, but the paperbacks are still floating around somewhere (I can’t remember where I put them).

Do you have a complete series?

I’ve got the complete Hunger Games series and the complete Divergent series. Both series were found one at a time in almost-new condition at various used bookstores.

What’s the newest addition on your shelf?

My Grandma just gave me two Nancy Drew’s, the original ones, before they got rewritten. It’s the Clue of the Rusty Key and the Clue in the Jewel Box. Both are looking kind of beat up, so I’m hesitant to actually read them.

What’s the most recently published book on your shelf?

All Fall Down by Ally Carter. I actually have books that are more recently published, but they’re all on my Kindle. What I do every Christmas with my Amazon giftcards is I go crazy pre-ordering all the books that are coming out that I know I’ll want.

The oldest book on your shelf?

The Clue in the Jewel box. Or, actually, I’ve got a beat-up old murder mystery paperback that was my Grandpa’s when he was a teenager, so that might edge out Nancy Drew.

A book you won?

I am unlucky when I comes to winning stuff (I could tell you stories about rude cakewalk people). I think the only thing I’ve ever won is a cake-decorating competition. Actually, no, I did win something. If you count those library read-twenty-hours-and-get-a-free-book thingies, I’ve won The Lighting Thief, The Titan’s Curse, The Iron King and The 5th Wave. I’m sure there are more but I just can’t remember them.

A book you’d hate to let out of your sight?

Pretty much all of my hardbacks, because I keep them in new condition and I don’t want them coming back dog-eared with creased jackets and stained pages.

Most beat-up book?

The Nancy Drews again. If you’re talking about a book that’s beat up because of me, though, I’d have to say Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

Most pristine book?

White Cat by Holly Black. I somehow managed to keep it in perfect condition even though it’s a paperback. No creased cover or wrinkled pages or anything. It’s a miracle.

A book from your childhood?

I have all the books from my childhood. I don’t get rid of them, it feels like I’m getting rid of memories. Among others, I have the Warriors series, the Penderwicks series, and the Sammy Keyes series.

A book that doesn’t belong to you?

Not counting library books…nothing. I just gave back the borrowed copy of Delicious! on Sunday, and that was the last borrowed book I had.

A book with a special/different cover? (Ex: leatherbound, soft and fuzzy, ect)

My Top Pot cookbook has a puffy cover. You touch it and the cover feels…puffy. I don’t know how else to describe it.

A book that’s your favorite color?

I like the gray-blue that’s the Shiver cover. I don’t actually have a book that’s my favorite color because my favorite color is purple. Not just purple in general, but a really, really pale purple.

A book that’s been on your shelf the longest and yet you still haven’t read it?

Allegiant. Some guy that it was perfectly okay to carry on a loud conversation in Barnes and Noble about the end of it. Therefor, he ruined it for me and I just can’t bring myself to read it.

Any signed books?

I have three. A copy of Dragon’s Keep signed by Janet Lee Carey, a copy of Scarlet signed by Marissa Meyer, and a copy of The Faerie Ring signed by Kiki Hamilton.

ITag

So, I’ve been basically tagging the same nine or ten people every single time. So I’m not going to tag anyone in particular. IF YOU SEE THIS AND YOU WANT TO DO THIS, DO IT! (Do it, she whispers creepily, staring you down).

Ahem.

But anyways, if you decide you want to do this tag, go ahead. Post a link in a comment and I’ll come check it out!

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

3 thoughts on “In which I steal the Bookshelf Tag

  1. Haha, sorry about Allegiant. People in bookstores should know better! I like the idea of having a bunch of little bookcases scattered around more than one big bookcase. That way the whole house can feel bookish and comfortable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

