Zombies are people, too (mostly)

17331322Jake Stephens was always an average, fly-under-the-radar guy. The kind of guy who would never catch the attention of an insanely popular girl like Amanda Blake-or a psychic teenage government agent like Cass. But one day during lunch, Jake’s whole life changed. He and Amanda suddenly locked eyes across the cafeteria, and at the exact same instant, they turned into zombies and devoured half their senior class.

Now Jake definitely has Amanda’s attention-as well as Cass’s, since she’s been sent on a top-secret mission to hunt them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own-one that will lead the three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

This book showed up on some Epic Reads list like Top Twenty Five Books You Need To Read This Summer or something along those lines. Since very few zombie novels show up in YA, I lunged upon it and devoured it (har har).

It was pretty much like I expected it to be. More humor than horror, a sort of light read that you’d take to the beach or one vacation. AKA, something you’d read when you don’t want to think too much.

Now, I enjoyed this book. It wasn’t boring, and there were a few parts in here that made my stomach turn a little bit. But…

Jake and Amanda seem a bit too okay about eating people. I would spend at least the first week panicking and throwing up and basically working myself into one of those cliche teenage girl meltdowns. Which I’m pretty sure everyone would be doing. But Jake ate his best friend and the best friend is mentioned maybe twice after the before mentioned eating.

And characters felt a bit underdeveloped. Jake and Amanda had almost no character development, and Cass had zero. By the end of the book I felt no attachment to her at all.

However, Jake had a sort of deadpan sort of humor which I enjoyed, and both he and Amanda had a couple of great one-liners that I wish I remembered because I would rather like to use them someday. And the love was more like a cute, flirty, do-I-really-like-you sort of thing, which is better than the insta-love I expected.

I mean, I gnawed on this book, but not as enthusiastically as I would like. This is a light read, but not something you should be dying to get your hands on.

Please excuse the various eating and zombie puns. Thank you.

ThreeStarsI am not adding anything extra because I am tired and wish to go to bed.

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

6 thoughts on “Zombies are people, too (mostly)

  1. Sorry the book didn’t work for you- I agree, if I had to eat people I would have some reservations about it, even if I’m undead! The characters sound poorly realised. Thanks for reviewing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

