In Which I Expose My Secret Life as a Book Blogger (tag)

I was tagged for this awesome tag by this awesome person. Thanks, Cait! Basically these tag is about spilling my secrets to the world (duh duh duuunnn). Not, actually, that I really have any juicy secrets. So on with the tag!

1. HOW LONG HAVE YOU BEEN A BLOGGER?

I wrote my first blog when I was twelve. It was about my hedgehog and it failed. (It’s actually still up if you want to read it. Please take pity on my twelve and thirteen year old self). Then I started a cooking blog that also failed (which I cannot find a link too) that I wrote about two years ago. These are both dead and gone, but I’ve really been blogging quite a while. As for these blog, it’s been a little less than a year.

2. AT WHAT POINT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL STOP BLOGGING?

I will stop blogging if I A) Get sued because I’m blogging, B) get eaten by Bigfoot, or C) Decide I’m moving to Africa. I really don’t plan on stopping blogging unless I really, really have to.

3. WHAT IS THE BEST THING ABOUT BLOGGING?

I love and adore the people. Seriously, the book blogging community is fantastically nice and I love you all. I’m giving you a great big mental hug right now. Other than that? I love learning about new books and new authors. Before I started blogging, I never really read book reviews, so I missed out on a lot of really fantastic reads. You guys have introduced me to some of my favorite books in the history of ever, so thanks for that.

I also love being able to have my thoughts be heard. I’ve for so long been the quiet little introvert, the invisible girl at the back of the room. But here, I’m not.

4. WHAT IS THE WORST PART ABOUT BLOGGING?

When people say they hate books I love. Seriously, though. I protect my favorites with teeth and claws, and hearing other people say they hate them makes me mad. The internet is a fickle place, and since I really don’t want to start a fight I have to sit there and seethe silently, mentally calling you all sorts of names.

Other than that? Self doubt. Oh, what if my posts aren’t long enough or what if they’re not well written enough or oh, what if people aren’t following me because I’m too ___ or my blog is too ___ or my posts are too ___.

5. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO CREATE/FIND PICTURES TO USE?

I actually don’t really use pictures, ’cause I’m lazy and my photography skill is a bit…lacking. I get the book covers off of Goodreads, so it’s pretty easy to get my hands on them. If for whatever reason I decide to use Gifs, it will take a little longer, and if I want to use my own photographs it will take even longer. But it doesn’t take me longer than an hour or so, photography, editing and all.

6. WHO IS YOUR BOOK CRUSH?

Like crush from a book? Simon from Mortal Instruments and Nathan from Half Bad (my adorable tortured little antihero. You may have heard of him).

7. WHAT AUTHOR WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE ON YOUR BLOG?

♫ Maggie Stiefvater ♫.

Her, Marissa Meyer, or A.G. Howard. Mostly Maggie Stiefvater, though, ’cause she’s fabulous.

8. WHAT DO YOU WEAR WHEN YOU WRITE YOUR BLOG POSTS?

Depends on when I’m writing them. If I write them the morning that I post them, then my pajamas. If I write them in advance, then whatever I was wearing for the day. Normally jeans and a t-shirt with something on it relating to my fandoms (currently it’s a Captain America shirt).

9. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO PREPARE?

Prepare what? The posts? I dunno, like twenty minutes for a book review, half an hour to forty five minutes to everything else. I’m a fast typer. That’s why there are so many typos.

10. HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE BOOK BLOGGER COMMUNITY?

I LOVE YOU GUYS. Seriously, I do. You’re like the nicest internet community I could have asked for.

11. WHAT DO YOU THINK ONE SHOULD DO TO GET A SUCCESSFUL BLOG?

Quality not quantity. Write good, engaging posts that you worked hard on and you feel good about. Basically, do the opposite of what you do for NaNoWriMo.

ITag

Koral @ The Time Traveling Writer’s Blog (we can’t break the tradition, can we?) | Nirvana @ Quenching the Quill |Aentee @ Read at Midnight | And whoever wants to do this, because this is all I can think of currently. If you were already tagging, feel free to ignore this.

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

9 thoughts on “In Which I Expose My Secret Life as a Book Blogger (tag)

  1. (omg, I agree…some of these questions were way too vague. xD)

    AHHH I’M SO GLAD YOU DID THE TAG THOUGH. 😀 Simon is my favourite Shadowhunterling, despite being, well, a vampire and not a shadowhunter BUT WHATEVER. And Nathan is an adorable but deluded little thing. I JUST WANNA KIDNAP HIM AND GIVE HIM WARM PRETZELS AND KEEP HIM SAFE, POOR DARLING.

    Self doubt is the worst. But I guess most bloggers get tangled in it, so that’s encouraging…sort of?!! HEHE.

    And I CRACKED UP at the #11 with “Basically, do the opposite of what you do for NaNoWriMo.” *snorts* YES.

    Like

  2. I know it’s so annoying when people hate a book you love. Personally, I simply avoid any negative review of my favorite book. Petty, I know. But I just can’t read them. It mentally hurts me, lol. Sorry but I never really cared for Simon in The Mortal Instrumen. I was too busy lusting over Jace, haha. I’m terrible at photography, too *high five*. There aren’t many picture I have taken by myself on my blog.

    “Basically, do the opposite of what you do for NaNoWriMo.” This is so funny! Nice post!

    Like

  3. “Basically, do the opposite of what you do for NaNoWriMo.”
    I love your posts. You’re a riot.
    The book blogger community must be the nicest internet communty ever, really. It’s just amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

