Top Ten Authors Whom I Will Order From Without a Second Thought

5f295-toptentuesdayThis week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is Top Ten Authors On Your Auto-Buy list. I don’t actually tend to buy a book before I read it, so I was grasping at straws a little bit to get to ten, but hey…I made it! These are the authors that I will pre-order a book from without a second thought.

Holly Black

I love her creeptastic fairies and sarcastic vampires, so I’ll pretty much pre-order any YA Holly Black book that comes along. Y’know. For science.

(That didn’t make any sense. Ignore me).

Ransom Riggs

He’s only written two (coming up on three) YA books, but he has impressed me enough with those two that he’s been added to the list (I think I may have pre-ordered Library of Souls twice. Oops).

Rick Riordan

This guy is what shaped my pre-teenager hood fantasies of demigods. Somehow, when I imagined being a demigod, I never actually imagined having to fight monsters. I just imagined all the cool powers and friends I would have.

A. G. Howard

I dare you to find someone who has read her Splintered series and hasn’t completely fallen in love with it. I. Dare. You. Those three books mean that I will forever pre-order whatever A. G. Howard has to offer, because amazing.

Marissa Meyer

The four books I’ve read so far from here are all amazing, and I loved them all, and I actually still need to pre-order Winter so I might do that this afternoon. I am also extremely excited for both Heartless and what her Goodreads calls “a trilogy about super heroes and super villains“.

Maggie Stiefvater.

Because Maggie Stiefvater. That’s why.

Rainbow Rowell.

I fell in love with Fangirl. I fell slightly less in love with Eleanor & Park. I gobbled down Attachments. And am eagerly awaiting Carry On. Why? Because it is the most epic thing ever from an amazing author.

Lauren Oliver

Even though I haven’t read all of her books (yet), I quite enjoyed both Panic and Vanishing Girls, so I think that if she announces another book I will pre-order it quite forcefully.

Julie Kagawa

I love all three of her series, and CANNOT WAIT for The Iron Warrior, because the cliffhanger at the end of the Iron Traitor made me cry in frustration BECAUSE THAT IS NOT A NICE THING TO DO TO PEOPLE. I’m also looking forward to the third book in the Talon series, Soldier.

Laini Taylor

I fell in love with the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, and I heard that she has another series so I might need to go and see if I can find that so I can gobble it down. But if she ever starts a new series I will be pre-ordering it.

So, there you go! My list. Do any of you have any of the same people? Have you noticed that a vast majority of YA authors seem to be women? Are your favorite authors releasing any books soon? If so, what are they?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors Whom I Will Order From Without a Second Thought

  1. I will pretty much read any Rick Riordan thing ever, have you read his Kane Chronicles? I loved it sliiiightly more than PJO (Slightly, because Percabeth is still bae <3) I LOVE RAINBOW ROWELL AND WILL GOBBLE HER GROCERY LISTS IF IT COMES TO THAT. Splintered was just so goshdarn amazing, there was something about the way that she would write the descriptions that would send goosebumps my way, and she captured the insanity esssence pretty well.

    AND AY LUNAR CHRONICLES. I can't wait for Winter omg. Basically all of these. ALL THE BOOKS. We have a lot of mutuals here ;3

    Like

  2. Yes it does seem like most YA writers are women. Anything by Rick Riordan, same for me. His books are ALWAYS entertaining! Laini Taylor is a fantastic writer but I didn’t enjoy Daughter of Smoke and Bone (I must be like the only one). Lol, your list is composed of almost every author’s whose book I haven’t read yet but really want to. The Iron King, The Raven Boys and Splintered are up there in my TBR list. And I’ve just started reading Cinder.

    Like

  3. I’ll take you up on that dare. I disliked Splintered so much I couldn’t even finish it. It was because of Jeb; he was such a creep!

    I didn’t do this TTT because I don’t really have any auto-buy authors. But I am interested in anything that Laini Taylor and Lauren Oliver put out there. I’ve been really impressed with their books so far!

    Like

Leave a Reply

