#writerproblems

Basically, my writing process as of lately has been to stare at the computer and listen to Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency. The book is quite good. My writing process? Not so much.

I’ve got all these great ideas, that’s the thing. But I get the basic idea and maybe write the first couple of chapters then I crash. It’s quite horrible. Especially since I’ve got three really fantastic (if I do say so myself) ideas that I really want to write and I promised myself I would finish a novel this year and I guess I’ve still got NaNoWriMo, but still.

The ideas are this:

  • Project Frankenstein: a secret branch of the government trains teenagers to be operatives to catch everything from bank robbers to terrorists. Maisie and Cole have just finished what they hope will be their last mission, when a serial killer comes around and they’re the only two who are qualified.
  • Marionette, or, possibly, These Dancing Girls: The entire country is amazed by Mr. Wells extremely lifelike marionettes. Very few people know the secret behind the wooden girls. But Adela does, and for a very good reason. She is one of the marionettes. Eight months ago, Mr. Wells turned her from a living, breathing seventeen year old girl into lifeless wood. Well, almost lifeless.
  • Two Little Birds: Once upon a time, there was a girl named Raven. Once upon a time, there was a Raven named Girl. Once upon a time, they both attracted the attention of a witch. Once upon a time…their minds switched bodies. Raven becomes Girl. Girl becomes Raven.

Two YA novels (Project Frankenstein, Marionette/These Dancing Girls) and one MG (Two Little Birds). Both pretty solid ideas (in my mind, at least), but I sit down at the computer, open Scrivener, and stop. All three have some pretty big problems.

  • Project Frankenstein: I have no idea why it’s called Project Frankenstein. At first I thought that maybe the Operatives had a lot of skin grafts, but those are mostly used for burns, and if the Operatives have scars all over their body it would make it quite hard to blend into the background as needed.
  • Marionette/These Dancing Girls: I have no idea how to turn them marionettes back into humans, or how the plot would go or if it would just be a bunch of wooden girls who come alive at night and an evil sorcerer.
  • Two Little Birds: I don’t have much more than the synopsis and both the characters.

Other #writerproblems involve lack of motivation and writer’s block.

Is anyone else #writerproblems, too? What novels are you planning? Are you guys planning on doing NaNoWriMo?

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “#writerproblems

  1. I like the Marionette idea. As far as how to turn them back to humans: it’s fiction; make something up. Even if it’s not a great solution to begin with, it will give you something to work on. As you write, the solution will become clearer to you, and will work better in the plot as a result. They’ll never get to be human again if you to save them by starting to write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

