Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas || Assassins need cake and puppies, too

Throne_of_Glass_UKAfter serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined. (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

Please tell me why it took so long to get me to read this book.

Actually, I think I know why; because whenever I heard anything about this book all I would hear was “love triangle” and go NOPE! and not add it to my TBR list. But then, there  I was in the library, with a small, sad little pile (four books instead of my usual ten or so) and I noticed that not only did they have Throne of Glass, they had Crown of Midnight AND A Court of Thorns and Roses. So I tossed them onto my pile (bringing the number from four up to seven) and trotted downstairs to check them out.

Celaena Sardothien is one of the most feared assassins in the kingdom. She’s (almost) fearless, brilliant, sassy, witty, and survived an entire year in a death camp. And almost escaped that death camp. In fact, as soon as she was taken from before mentioned death camp, she most likely could have escaped but decided not too. She’s a cold-blooded, ruthless assassin, but she also loves clothes and puppies and candy and chocolate cake.

Chaol Westfall is young, talented, good-looking and captain of the guard, and also the person that’s been assigned to make sure that Celaena doesn’t go on a murdering spree in the castle and then escape. Or escape and go on a murdering spree. Really, they just want him to make sure she doesn’t do any escaping and/or murdering. He’s a bit more soft spoken than Dorian, a bit more laid back, and can keep up with Celaena both in physical and mental terms. He’s part one of the love triangle

Dorian Havilliard is the crown prince, and known throughout the kingdom as being a lady’s man. But he’s not the slimy, icky sort of person I expected him to be. He’s kind and smart and basically only “dates” those girls because it’s his royal duty. And he also quite enjoys ticking off his evil king of a father. He’s part two of the love triangle.

I’ve only read as far as The Crown of Midnight, but I personally ship Chaol and Celaena. But that’s just my two cents.

The whole idea for this is that Celaena is competing for the chance to be the king’s private assassin. If she wins, she doesn’t get sent back to the Endovier salt mines. But the king worries what would happen if the kingdom realizes that the assassin they feared for so long was an eighteen year old. Not because she’s a girl. Because she’s eighteen. Do you know how refreshing it is for a fantasy world to have the woman be just as respected as the men?

And Celaena does face challenges. She gets picked on by the other contestants because they think she’s just a jewel thief. There’s also a weird supernatural creature going around murdering people. There’s blood! And guts! And gore! And sword fights!

Plus, the writing was awesome and was filled with quotes like this:

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

And this:

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.”

And this:

My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

So, basically, go and read this right now.

FiveStarsSo…I have a new blog layout? What do you think? I’m kind of missing the sidebar for widgets (you have to scroll all the way down to the bottom of the page! Oh the horror!), but other than that I like it. Reminds me of a calkboard a little bit.

Meanwhile, I’ve been outlining, plotting, and naming for my NaNo novel which I can’t decide if it’s YA or MG but it’s about girls and ravens and murders and petite fours. While I do that, I’m also brainstorming for Marionette/These Dancing Girls and Project Frankenstien. Marionette will be what I work on before NaNo. Project Frankenstien after.

How many of you are planning on doing NaNoWriMo? Are you already plotting away? Have you read Throne of Glass? Did you like it? If you haven’t read it, are you planning too?

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

8 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas || Assassins need cake and puppies, too

  1. Wow! Great review! This has been on my TBR list for a while. I am hearing nothing but good things about this book. I’m going to buy it now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

