writing

In Which I Heist The #WritersLife tag

writerslifeIs “heist” a verb? I don’t know(and I call myself a writer!), but I’m using it as one. I snatched this tag from Cait @ Paper Fury, because she is always tagged for the coolest tags and even when she doesn’t actually tag me in them I take them. I am a master criminal in this way.

Actually, not really.

WRITE FUEL: WHAT DO YOU EAT/DRINK WHILE WRITING?

I drink tea. Lots of tea. Scalding hot tea that burns my tongue and lips but I must chug it before I get to the next exciting scene and forget about it so it goes cold. If I’ve made cookies or something else I’ll eat those.

But pretty much anything else will sit there, forgotten, until I’m done writing.

WRITE SOUNDS: WHAT DO YOU LISTEN TO WHILE WRITING?

Well, in theory, I’ve got a few Spotify playlists that I listen too. But most of the time I just plug in my headphones and forget about turning on the music. However, pounding away at a computer with earbuds in is a marvelous way of saying “I DO NOT WANT TO TALK TO YOU, GO AWAY!” if you happen to be writing in a public place.

WRITE VICE: WHAT’S YOUR MOST DEBILITATING DISTRACTION?

The internet. I don’t actually browse the internet until I’m done writing, but sometimes I might need to look something up, then I’ll remember this character whom I’m about to introduce who doesn’t have a name and I need to know this fact for the next chapter and in exactly 10.3 chapters I’ll need to know the longest real word in the world.

The internet is both a huge help and a huge distraction.

WRITE HORROR: WHAT’S THE WORST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED TO YOU WHILE WRITING?

I mean, I’m sure everyone has had the “I forgot to save and my computer crashed and I lost the entire day’s work.” That’s hugely frustrating and it always tends to end with me crying in frustration.

Also, the horror of someone asking to read your novel. IF I KNOW YOU OUTSIDE OF THE INTERNET, I DON’T WANT YOU TO EVER READ ANYTHING I HAVE WRITTEN. EVER.

It seems like there’s always this sudden increase of people asking to read what you wrote after NaNoWriMo because they somehow find out you’re doing it and that you’ve got a novel and since they’re not writers and don’t understand the terror, I’ll get text after text of people saying, “You finished your novel! Can I read it?”

NO YOU CANNOT. GO AWAY.

WRITE JOY: WHAT’S THE BEST THING THAT’S HAPPENED WHILE WRITING OR HOW DO YOU CELEBRATE SMALL VICTORIES?

Finishing a novel is like one of the best feelings in the world. There’s like this giddy, “oh my gosh I actually did it!” buzz you get and it lasts hours. Also, every single time a beta reader says they like my writing.

And I celebrate by eating whatever food I told myself I couldn’t have while I was writing. Normally this is some sort of chocolate I have stashed in one of my desk drawers.

WRITE CREW: WHO DO YOU COMMUNICATE WITH OR NOT COMMUNICATE WITH WHILE WRITING?

All the normal people. I’m a writing snail. I creep along and If I didn’t talk to anyone I’d be a hermit for MONTHS.

WRITE SECRET: WHAT’S YOUR WRITING SECRET TO SUCCESS OR HIDDEN FLAW?

I read, read, read. READ ALL THE THINGS. But seriously, though, reading and reviewing has made me a better writer because I know what I don’t or do want my novel to have.

My flaw? I struggle so much with starting a novel that I often give up. I’ve got like 10+ drafts just sitting in the computer, all less than 15,000 words. If I can get past that 15,000 I will finish. But I often can’t.

WRITE-SPIRATION: WHAT ALWAYS MAKES YOU PRODUCTIVE?

Saying stuff to myself like this; “If you write 2,000 words today, you get to bake whatever you want. Even those fancy caramels that no one in the house will eat but will be extremely fun to make.” or “If you write 2,000 words today, you get to buy yourself a paperback.” or “if you write 5,000 words today, you get to buy yourself a hardback.”

I basically bribe myself with books and baking.

WRITE PEEVE: WHAT’S ONE THING THAT WRITERS DO (OR YOU DO) THAT’S ANNOYING?

Always turning the conversation back to their own books. Like I’ll ask for help, (hey, does this character seem developed enough to you?), and they’ll answer as quickly as they can then turn the conversation to their own novel (Yeah, it’s fine. But now, I’ve really been struggling with my characters and they all feel so flat and boring and I really want them to feel real…). I’m sure I’ve been guilty of this at some point, too.

WRITE WORDS: SHARE ONE SENTENCE FROM A PROJECT, PAST OR PRESENT.

My MG novel doesn’t have any good quotes yet, so I’m taking these from a super-duper top secret novel that I’m at like 35,000 words into SO I’M NOT GOING TO ABANDON IT.

“Who’s that?”

“Oh, that’s our butler, Archie. Well, officially he’s our butler, but he’s also the official things on a high shelf getter, cat chaser, board game player, chocolate pudding maker and sword-finder.”

“Hello, miss.”

There’s quote one, and here’s quote two.

“You know, it would be nice if monsters actually had some sort of schedule to their attacks. Like, oh, it’s twelve o’clock! Time to go terrorize campground! Or, look, it’s a quarter past two, let’s go eat a small flock of sheep. But noooo, instead they attack whenever they feel like and make it so I have to tramp through the woods at four in the morning in too-big rainboots.

Super secret project involves monsters, in case you haven’t noticed.

ITagI actually don’t know who I follow who’s a writer and who isn’t, so I’m not tagging anyone. But feel free to heist this tag yourself if you wish. I won’t blame you.

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

2 thoughts on “In Which I Heist The #WritersLife tag

  1. Omg you bribe yourself with baking and books…THIS SPEAKS TO ME ON A SPIRITUAL LEVEL. :’) Also! Also! I totally stole this tag too!! IT IS A GOOD TAG TO HEIST. *nods*
    I’m absolutely adoring your snippets…especially that second one!! 😛 I’ve only abandoned 2 books before, and one I wrote one chapter and was like “NOPE” and the second I wrote 15K and was just…nope. I kind of hesitantly think I might write the second one one day?!?!? bUT PROBABLY NOT. hehe
    Finishing a novel = an unreal and beautiful sense of accomplishment. :’) BEST FEELING EVER.

    Like

    1. I bribe myself with leftover Halloween candy, too. I can make that stuff last through January if I’m going through a writing rut. Normally it’s for every 1,000 words I write I get a piece.

      Like

Leave a Reply

