The Reading Habits Tag

ReadingHabitsTagI was tagged for this tag by Lizzy @ My Little Book Blog! It’s funny, really, because before now I never really thought that I had any reading habits…it turns out what I thought was randomness is kind of a habit, so it’s slightly weird, but okay.

I don’t think that made any sense.

I’m tired.

DO YOU HAVE A CERTAIN PLACE A HOME FOR READING?

Like do I have a little reading nook? No (but I wish I did!).  If people are home, I’ll read in my bedroom on my bed. If I’m home alone, I’ll read on the couch or on my beanbag (which is out in the living room).

BOOKMARK OR RANDOM PIECE OF PAPER?

Well, in theory, bookmark. I’ve even got a little tin on my bookshelf full of various bookmarks. But, in all honesty, I often don’t have a bookmark with me, so I’ll use anything. Rubber bands, gum wrappers, a fruit bar, the remote control, another book, receipts, an old movie ticket stub, my ferry ticket…anything I have on hand and I can use.

CAN YOU JUST STOP READING OR DO YOU HAVE TO STOP AFTER A CHAPTER/ ACERTAIN AMOUNT OF PAGES?

Normally I stop on chapters unless for whatever reason I can’t read for another second. But I still try to finish a page so I just start at the top.

DO YOU EAT OR DRINK WHILE READING?

Yes. I like tea, and if I’ve made cookies or we have popcorn or something I’ll eat that. But I don’t normally eat entire meals while reading.

MULTITASKING: MUSIC OR TV WHILE READING?

If I listen to music it’s more of a white noise thing and to warn people away from talking to me if I’m reading in a public place. I don’t watch TV while reading, because it’s too much of a distraction, going both ways. I don’t really watch TV that much, anyways.

ONE BOOK AT A TIME OR SEVERAL AT ONCE?

Normally one at a time, but if I’ve got a stack of library books that are about to expire, I’ll read several at once. Or if I get extremely bored with a book I’m reading but don’t want to DNF it yet.

READING AT HOME OR EVERYWHERE?

Read everywhere. Always. Seriously, I think the reason my purse is falling apart is because I’ve always got at least one book jammed in there at any given time.

READING OUT LOUD OR SILENTLY IN YOUR HEAD?

Silently in my head. Besides, YA has so many kissy scenes it would be slightly embarrassing to read it out loud, especially in public.

DO YOU READ AHEAD OR SKIP PAGES?

//Gasp how could you even accuse me of such a thing?!

I don’t, though…I feel like I’ll miss something vital if I skip ahead, so I just don’t, even if I have to slog through a few pages.

BREAKING THE SPINE OR KEEPING IT NEW?

I try really, really hard not to break the spine, but sometimes it can’t be helped. However, if I can keep a book like new, I will for as long as possible. It’s hard, though, because I reread often so a book starts to get slightly worn after a while.

DO YOU WRITE IN YOUR BOOKS?

//gasp

NEVER. EVER, EVER. To me, that’s somewhere below staining a book’s pages or cover, but above dog earing. A serious no-no.

ITag

Koral @ The Time Traveling Writer’s Blog || Tina @ Read the Bloody Book || Cait @ Paper Fury || Aentee @ Read at Midnight || Sarah @ Written Word Worlds

So, um, remember my attempt to teach myself bookish photography? Not going so well. I NEED HELP, PEOPLE. So, seriously, if you have any photography tips you can lend me, I would happily accept them.

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

7 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. I snack while reading all the time, but mostly I drink tea, hence my book blog title 😉 And I bring my books everywhere too! It makes my bag way too heavy sometimes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

