Calling All Writers || In Which Aine Has an Awesome Idea

So, the other day, I started thinking.

I’ve been getting kind of bored with just following recipes, but how can I develop the recipe for the perfect chocolate chip cookie, the perfect, fluffy cake, the perfect…I dunno…Pot de creme if I already have found what I view as the perfect recipe? Any recipe I make would be influenced from that recipe, and then it’s not truly developing, it’s adapting.

But then I realized: writers, especially fantasy writers, make up new foods pretty often. And they won’t always decide to try and make a recipe based off of the food they created especially for the book. But they still might want to try it.

And so I thought of a way to kill two birds with one stone. Writers: tell me your made-up foods. And I will try to create a recipe based off of what you tell me. Savory or sweet, I don’t care. If there are any fantasy foods mixed in, tell me the real-life food you think they’d taste closest to, or describe what they taste like to me so I can figure it out.

And, hopefully, you’ll have a recipe for a made-up food, and I’ll have practice developing recipes.

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

10 thoughts on “Calling All Writers || In Which Aine Has an Awesome Idea

  1. OMG. THIS IS LIKE THE BEST IDEA OF THE ENTIRE UNIVERSE. *flails* I haven’t ever made up, like, a specific fantasy dish…but I basically want to eat the entire of The Wrath and the Dawn because the food sounded so ridiculously delicious. :’)

    Like

    1. I haven’t read that (yet), but from what I understand it’s Persian food? And those people are genius. Saffron ice cream. It’s even better because you can get said saffron ice cream sandwiched between two wafer cookies. Yum.

      Like

  2. I made up a number of dishes with mutton in them (they had tons of sheep and it was like the staple food) but mutton is a little expensive… you don’t have to try anything XD

    Like

  3. This is pretty much the best idea EVER! Unfortunately I tend to write dystopian and the food kind of… sucks. Though I’m tempted now to invent all sorts of delicious fictional delicacies just so you can make them! :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

