Zombies, Witches, and Ghosts, Oh My! || The Best Bookish Monsters

Halloween is fast approaching, which means this is the perfect time to talk about monsters. Bookish monsters, specifically. I’m going to be sticking with YA bookish monsters, because the list would be too long if I listed every horrifying monster or creature in every book I’ve ever read. Dad says there are a couple of really scary Stephen King novels. He told me about this killer clown named Pennywish or Pennywise. Of course, I have Coulrophobia anyway, so I’m not going to be reading that book anytime soon, but I thought it might be worth mentioning. But on to the official list.

THE RIVENS FROM ILLUSIONARIUM BY HEATHER DIXON.

These are what I refer to as subtly creepy. Unless, of course, you take the time to look through her Illusionarium pinterest board and find this picture.

30d6e39ebb85cbbf853fdf88347d680f

And, honestly? This isn’t even the creepiest thing she has on the Illusionarium board.

BOGGARTS FROM HARRY POTTER BY J.K. ROWLING

This things literally become your worst fear. AND they just seem to…kind of pop up. They’re literally the monsters under your bed or in your closet.

THE OTHER-MOTHER FROM CORALINE BY NEIL GAIMAN

Tumblr_n0joq2WmcL1trbrgco1_500

Seriously, though…I think the scariest part about her is that she acts nice at first, but she really wants to sew buttons over your eyes and steal your soul. I’ve read the book, but I haven’t watched the movie…maybe I need to this Halloween. Like, really late at night alone in the house.

THE WIGHTS FROM MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN

They look human. Do you want to know why they look human? BECAUSE THEY HAVE EATEN PEOPLE. Like, lots of people. Luckily, if you’re not a peculiar, they don’t have much interesting in you. And have I mentioned their eyes yet? Yeah, they have no iris or pupil. They’re just dead white.

10608864_10204663853740129_1947992247_n

If I was being completely honest here, I would say that the wights more fascinated me than creeped me out, but, honestly, look at the picture. Tell me you’re not creeped out by that picture.

THE SCORPION-CORPSE CREATURES FROM SHUTTER BY COURTNEY ALAMEDA

It’s literally a creature that looks like a giant scorpion but is made of a whole bunch of naked human corpses. SOUND CREEPY, MUCH? They’d make a great horror movie monster. Actually, the entire book would make a great horror movie. It’s about time there was a horror movie aimed for teenagers.

And, since I am a good whovian, I need to leave with a parting note.

THAT MOVEMENT IN THE CORNER OF YOUR EYE, THE MONSTER UNDER THE BED, THE THING UNDER THE RED BLANKET

blanket_zps2ef7d2ef

We have all had that dream. Where we think we’re awake, and we go to get out of bed…and something grabs our foot. This episode is playing off of that dream. I HAVE NEVER been so creeped out by a TV show in my life. AND there was that good solid week when I first started watching Teen Wolf were I was convinced I would have a kanima launch down upon me from a rooftop (I was fourteen. Give me a break). But this…this episode stayed with me for a while.

And so! What’re your favorite bookish monsters? Where you as creeped out as I was with Listen? And, most importantly…what are you planning on being for Halloween?

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

Leave a Reply

