The Proper Book Blogger Etiquette

0001-79587728Whenever I use the world “etiquette” I always imagine a princess getting lectured on the proper way to great another person of royalty. BUT, that is not what this post is about.

This post is about blogging etiquette; both on your blog and when commenting on someone else’s. For whatever reason, people tend to be far ruder on the internet than they are in real life. Now, for the most part, the book blogging community is one of the nicest internet communities I could have asked for. But that doesn’t mean someone doesn’t unintentionally do something a little bit rude. Here’s a list of things that you probably shouldn’t do.

OYOBBASHING ON AUTHORS

Look, it’s perfectly fine if you don’t like a book, but don’t bash on an author because of it. It used to be no big deal to me when I saw someone do it, but now I’m a writer myself and I know how it feels. Tell people what you didn’t like about the book, not about how the author is a horrible writer and should never touch a pen again.

STEALING/PLAGIARIZING

I once went looking on another book review website and found my review for Panic. And I didn’t submit it too that website. Someone had copy-pasted it word for word and submitted it as their own. I reported it and it got taken down, but it was still insanely irritating, mostly because someone else was taking credit for my hour of work.

Now, most people know not to do this, but there might be something smaller; taking a photograph from some else’s blog, using a line from one of their posts…this might not seem like much but it’s still plagiarizing. And, sticking with this topic,

GIVE CREDIT WHERE CREDIT IS DUE

If your post is based of another bloggers, SAY SO. If I found my “Judging a Book By It’s Cover” thing on another blog and they didn’t give me credit, I would get mad. I spent time thinking that up, and to have someone else take it without giving me credit for it would be infuriating.

COOPB

NO SPAMMING

There’s something really disappointing about getting a notification about a comment all it being is “great post, now here’s a link to my blog!” Look, I get trying to get more traffic to your blog. But a comment like that practically screams “I don’t really care what you said, I just want you to come to my blog”. Write a nice comment (try to aim for four sentences at the least) and add a link to your blog at the bottom.

Writers also keep this in mind: if a blogger says no review requests, don’t send them a review request, no matter how much you think they’ll like your book.

AGREE TO DISAGREE

We all have different opinions. However, we should not have to wake up to find that people have called us names on Goodreads because they didn’t agree with a two-star review that we wrote. If you disagree with someone, that’s fine, but explain why you disagree, and do it nicely. That way you can have an actual conversation with someone, without hurting any feelings.

So! So you guys agree with any of these? Do you disagree with any? Do you feel like there’s anything that should be added?

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

13 thoughts on “The Proper Book Blogger Etiquette

  1. OMG WE ARE LIKE BRAIN TWINS. I seriously have a half-drafted post on etiquette. HAHA. But I shall let it just fester in my draft box for a while and share yours because this is golden. *nods* I haven’t ever had a review stolen but I’ve had my photos stolen. D: Someone used it on a giveaway and had everyone RTing photos that were mine but claiming they were hers. SO MAD = ME.
    I’ve also had people steal my ideas. *sigh* Or my expressions. Which I’m sure they don’t mean to do it, like, maliciously or anything, but it does make one feel less unique when they brand themselves a certain way and then suddenly there are dozens of people using the same tone/expressions. Meh.
    BUT ANYWAY. Agreeing to disagree = very important. And not that hard, right?!?!
    I’e found most bloggers to be totally lovely, but Goodreads? The trolls run rife. -_-

    Like

    1. HELLO BRAIN TWIN. Yeah, the review thing was…bizarre. It also makes me wonder how many times the person took a review; from me or someone else. Was this the first time? Or was it just one review of hundreds?
      And your expressions? Like calling people squidlings or pineapples? And it’s very odd, the actual community of book bloggers on BLOGS are extremely nice, but on Goodreads? People get MEAN.

      Like

  2. That all sounds very accurate to me and are things that just make sense. I always try to put myself in the shoes of the other person and it’s just not cool if someone uses your idea. I’ve had people copy my posts as well. It’s no a nice feeling if they don’t refer back to you.
    I think that was a cool idea for a post!

    Like

  3. Fantastic post – I agree with all your ideas! Especially about plagiarism. I live in fear of inadvertently taking someone else’s idea or phrase – to the point if I am reading a book, I try not to read anyone else’s reviews on it until mine is written, just in case something sticks in my mind. As for the being nice – I have yet to understand why people think it is ok to be so rude online! No one would ever speak that way face to face. I try not to read comments on Goodreads – they just end up frustrating me.

    Like

    1. I try to do that too, although I can’t always be helped because I sometimes just read Goodreads reviews for books I want to read and end up reviewing that same book later.
      And yes! People wouldn’t call you an idiot or worse for not liking a book in real life. Then why on the internet?

      Like

Leave a Reply

