books

Top Ten Bookish Costumes I Hope To See

5f295-toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by these lovely people.

I love the IDEA of Halloween. Always have. Dressing up with your friends and going out and getting candy. However, due to a traumatic childhood incident (I came face-to-face with Darth Maul), I couldn’t go out on Halloween lest I burst into tears. So this year is the first year since I was seven or eight or so that I’ve actually gone trick-or-treating. I’ve run a trunk at a trunk or treat the last couple of years, and I have yet to have a panic attack at one of those, so I’m going trick or treating.

Plus, I’ve gotten better at hiding fear, so even if I am terrified, I won’t start sobbing.

But anyways, one of favorite groups of Halloween costumes to see has always characters from books, especially from books I love. So here be my list of top ten bookish costumes I wish to see.

LUNA LOVEGOOD FROM HARRY POTTER BY J. K. ROWLING

There will be ten million little Harrys and Hermiones running around (it’s Halloween law), and a smattering of Rons, but I have yet to see a Luna, which is really too bad. I’m hoping this year.

PERCY JACKSON OR ANNABETH CHASE FROM PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS BY RICK RIORDAN

I’m actually surprised I haven’t seen one of these before, because it’s a pretty popular series, and a pretty easy costume. Maybe because it’s meant for twelve and thirteen and fourteen year olds?

NIMONA FROM NIMONA BY NOELLE STEVENSON

My current favorite little super villain, who’s also a shark. Granted, not many people would know who you were dressing up as, but those who did would think it was awesome.

A SHADOWHUNTER FROM THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS BY CASSANDRA CLARE

I don’t even care if it’s a specific Shadowhunter, I just want to see someone dressed as one. Tattoos, weapons and all.

EFFIE FROM THE HUNGER GAMES BY SUZANNE COLLINS

I think I would die laughing if I saw someone dressed as Effie, butterflies, hair and all. I know there will be tons of Katnisses, so please throw in an Effie as well. PLEASE.

NANCY DREW FROM NANCY DREW BY CAROLINE KEENE

You just need a cute vintage dress and hat, a sweater, and a magnifying glass. INSTANT AWESOME COSTUME. I’m actually pretty sad that I’ve never seen a Nancy Drew costume, because this series was my childhood.

CINDER FROM CINDER BY MARISSA MEYER

I’d be surprised if I DIDN’T see a Cinder costume, because the books are exploding and we’re SO CLOSE to the release of Winter that I think there’d most likely be a couple of fans who want to proclaim their love of the series.

OLIVE FROM MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN BY RANSOM RIGGS

I actually saw an Enoch last year. My friend asked the boy why he had a whole bunch of crude little clay figures with him. He said ’cause he was Enoch. Que me lunging across the car to ask him about his costume and how he liked the books. But this year I want to see and Olive, especially if it’s a little girl doing it.

CELAENA SARDOTHIEN FROM THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS

I’m actually trying to convince my friend to be her for Halloween. If I see someone out on Halloween dressed as Celaena, I’m going to have to go over and say hi. After all, I’m going as The Winter Soldier. Assassins must band together.

MORPHEUS FROM SPLINTERED BY A.G. HOWARD

Morpheus was always my favorite in the series, and I would die if I saw someone actually dressed as our favorite netherling. Maybe If I can’t convince previously-mentioned friend to be Celaena, I can convince her to be Morpheus.

And now, my little bloglings, what are your fabulous Halloween plans? Are you going as a YA character? If not, what are you going as?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Costumes I Hope To See

  1. My adorable niece was Nancy Drew a few years ago. She posed for a few pictures modeled on The Secret of the Old Clock and The Hidden Staircase. SO STINKIN’ CUTE. (She’s 25, btw.)

    Like

  2. My favourite costume from childhood was a “pushmi-pullyu” from Dr Dolittle. My best friend and I worked on the costume for ages! My mom still has a picture of us, 30 years later, and it is still a great costume. My own daughter was Medusa last year – she had just read Percy Jackson, and loved the idea of snakes in her hair!

    Like

  3. Cinder will probably be hard to pull off, with the cyborg parts of the limbs… But I’ve always wanted to see people dressing up as Percy Jackson, it’s fairly easy, just wear an orange Camp Half-Blood t-shirt and bring a trident around maybe? Cool list πŸ™‚ My TTT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

