Uncategorized

What I Do When I’m Not Blogging Part Four

Okay, first up: this post is extremely late. I was going to post it on November 1st, but then there was NaNoWriMo then vacation so now is pretty much my first chance to do it. Also relating to NaNoWriMo: I’m going to try and get a post up every other day. But that’s mostly hopeful thinking, so my posts might be few and far in between until I really hit the flow with this novel.

And now, my should-have-been-posted-a-week-ago Halloween Post.

So, for years I wasn’t able to go trick-or-treating due to childhood incident involving Darth Maul and year-old me. And I’m talking I was NOT ABLE TO GO OUT. One glance at a halfway scary Halloween costume and I would be in tears, and quite possibly trying to run away. And not even Halloween costumes, either. Sports mascots, Santa Clauses, basically anyone in a costume that covered their face.

But for the last four years I’d been doing trunk or treat, and I handled that reasonably well, and so this year I decided to go trick or treat with a group of friends. I was going as The Winter Soldier. My cousin was going as Captain America.

IMG_0621

I had a wooden knife in my boot. Three people asked if it was real. Turns out the mask was kind of hard to breath in and that if I wore the sunglasses and the mask my breath would be pushed up from my mask and my glasses would fog up and I wouldn’t be able to see. So after stumbling around for a while I decided to only put the mask and glasses on when we went to the door.

I also wore heels, which was a HUGE mistake. After about an hour my feet were KILLING me, and after about two I was hobbling along after everyone else nearly crying in pain. But they were the only black boots I had, other than rainboots. I should have worn the rainboots.

But for my first year of trick or treating since I was maybe six went well. I got a nice candy stash, and saw a few interesting costumes. There was one dad in a Beetlejuice costume, a quartet of little Hogwarts students, a Dad dressed as Gru with two minions (twin boys) and a banana (his baby). There was also this kid who I THINK was dressed as a zombie gorilla. I dunno, his costume might have just been really old. There was also a group of people I spied out my car window dressed as a TARDIS, a Dalek, and the Ninth, Tenth, and Eleventh Doctors.

So, yeah, it was fun, I’m hoping that I can go next year even though I’ll be seventeen and a couple months into pastry school.

IMG_0620So! How was your Halloween? What did you go as? Did you trick or treat, go to a party or do something else fun? And, did you watch the Wholloween Marathon? I did!

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

Leave a Reply

