Beautiful Books #2

bb-redoneOnce again, Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In

Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

I have reached the point in the draft where I’m like THIS IS HORRIBLE AND IT’S NOT GOING TO EVEN BE GOOD ENOUGH TO EDIT IT. Which is an extremely fun stage, let me tell you. But I still plan on editing it.

What’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

The last thing I expected to do on summer vacation is be kidnapped by my childhood fictional crush.

Are you a plotter or a pantser? Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

I’m a pantser, but I really need to start planning because my plots go all over the place.

What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

New books, mostly. But also Halloween candy, some sort of fancy $6 ice cream I would normally never buy, stuff like that. Also sometimes I allow myself to try a recipe I know no one in the house will eat, but really want to try.

What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

I’ve got a baby naming book I got last Christmas (which REALLY freaked my Grandma out when I asked for it, by the way). I also really like the Website Name Berry. And I don’t really have a theme…more like names I like and seem to fit the characters.

What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end — and why?

The ending. It’s where everything fits together and wraps up and also when the most exciting part often happens.

Who’s your current favourite character in your novel?

Avery Darling, AKA Wasp. Sarcastic pirate captain who’s the only child of Wendy Darling and Captain Cornelius Hook.

What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching? (What’s the weirdest thing you’ve researched?!)

Less interesting stuff like pirate tools, how to purify water, what pirates ate, stuff like that. Also how quickly an open wound would get infected and how much blood you need to loose before you die.

Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

I work better alone, but I also like to write places outside of my house. The library, a cafe, stuff like that. And I keep it to myself. NO ONE READS IT. At least, not until I’ve edited it within an inch of its life.

What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best? Feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

My writing habits are stare at the laptop smashing the keyboard until my eyes are crossed and I suddenly realize how hungry/tired I am, and/or how much I need to pee.

So! How’s NaNoWriMo going for you guys? What’s your word count? What are some of your writing habits?

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

11 thoughts on “Beautiful Books #2

  1. Well, your opening sentence grabbed my attention. Now I want to know how it’s possible (to be kidnapped by your fictional crush-not how your sentence grabbed my attention, lol).
    I am frequently in that stage: The this-is-horrible-kill-it! stage of a manuscript. But NaNo really forces me to just get the words on the page and let it be, which is awesome.
    Your book certainly sounds interesting – and hopefully the words keep flowing!
    And I have no idea what my word count is (I’m sort of afraid to look). But all I have planned for later is writing, and more writing.
    -Cheers!
    R @ Wordsmithing and Worldbuilding

    Like

    1. You can be kidnapped by your fictional childhood crush if you’re fictional childhood crush is Peter Pan and he’s not actually fictional. And yes, I think the whole reason why I love NaNo so much is it forces me to keep working even when I want to give up. There’s the whole I MUST FINISH feeling to it and so, I do finish. Unlike most of my other projects.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMGGG YOUR FIRST SENTENCE IS AMAZING!! I ABSOLUTELY ADORE IT!!! *flails wildly* That’s the kind of hooky first sentence that would swallow me in an instant. :’)
    I work better alone too. hehehhh. Although for the first time in my entire life I let someone read the unedited draft. They weren’t horrified (I was :P) so that was encouraging but still terrifying. My typos were so hilarious though. omg.
    And Nameberry is AMAZING. I am constantly on nameberry. I like, also, how it lists famous uses of the name, so I can make sure not to use something that might be famous for a different reason. *nods*
    Thanks for linking up! I LOVED THIS POST.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like it? I kept trying to figure out if it was too kooky of a first sentence but apparently not! Nameberry is THE BEST. They should make a baby naming book so I can have a hard copy because so. many. awesome. names. It’s also kind of funny because the first thing I do when I get a new baby name book or discover a new website I look up my name, and, according to Nameberry, my name is much more popular than I thought it was.

      Like

  3. Sounds like great things to be researching! 😀 You’re writing a retelling? That’s fabulous. I love the name of Wasp, sounds like she would be a fun character to write! NaNoWriMo has been a mix of good and bad. Good because I’ve already won, bad because I was planning on writing a second 50k and that just doesn’t seem to be happening right now.

    Like

    1. 100k. In a month? My head would explode from stress. Congrats on winning! And my naming process with Wasp went something along the lines of “hey, Wasp would be a good nickname, I should create a character that fits that.” And thus, Never, Never was born.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah. 😀 I know it’s fairly insane, and I honestly don’t think I’m going to make it this year. Maybe next though. Thanks! That’s awesome. I love it when character names come easily. Sometimes naming can be stressful.

        Like

Leave a Reply

