book review · five stars · Uncategorized

Winter by Marissa Meyer | Madness and pain and sour apple petits

Winter.jpgPrincess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

This review is long overdue, as I read Winter the night it came out. AND IT WAS FABULOUS. But was there really any doubt about that? I was practically drooling over the book on the ride home from the launch party, but it was too dark to read in the car, dang it, so I had to wait until we got home.

And, gosh, the character development! Everyone has grown SO MUCH since they were first introduced, especially Cinder. She’s no longer the cyborg we met in the first book, she’s totally grown into herself and SHE IS AMAZING AND I LOVE HER. Kai has a bigger part in this book than he has in the last three, and, unlike the last three, he isn’t AS confused. And he’s a sarcastic little prince, which is awesome.

Scarlet and Wolf remain my favorite ship, because they are just so adorable. Both are tough and strong but also a bit squishy and naturally they are tortured quite a lot in this book and you just want to WEEP from them because they deserve BETTER than this.

Cress and Thorne really shouldn’t work. They really shouldn’t. But they are so stinkin’ adorable and you just love them. They just need to SIT DOWN AND TALK. But Cress is still an adorable little hacker whom I adore, and Thorne is still quite funny and someone whom I also adore.

I dunno how I feel about Jacin. On one hand, I dislike him, but on the other, he has a reason for everything and that reason is Winter, and it is clear that he really does love her, so HELP I’M TWISTED.

But Winter…I LOVE Winter. She might be my favorite character in the entire series, because she is this tortured little princess who is so kind that she doesn’t use her powers because she doesn’t want to control people, and is getting horrible visions because of it. At some times she’ll seem completely sane, at others, she’ll be in a ball on the floor because the walls are bleeding and she is drowning in blood.

And throughout this book I wanted to punch Levana so badly it almost physically hurt. STOP HURTING THESE POOR DARLINGS AND GO TAKE A LONG WALK OFF A SHORT PIER.

And, yes, this book was 800+ pages. The plot did drag a bit in the middle, but I never got actually bored, and there were plot twists, and death, and new characters and fights and all that fun stuff that kept the plot going for the rest of the book so I’m not docking a star because of that.

THIS WAS BASICALLY THE PERFECT CONCLUSION. I may have cried at the end (maybe). I cried because the series was over, and while I know Stars Above is coming out soon, it just…well…the series is over. And so I cried. At this perfect conclusion.

To sum up this review in three words: READ. IT. NOW.

FiveStars

Have you guys read Winter yet? If so, do you agree with my review? If you haven’t, do you want too? Are you excited about the new mystery Marissa Meyer series about “superheroes and supervillains?” (hint: I am).

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

 

8 thoughts on “Winter by Marissa Meyer | Madness and pain and sour apple petits

  1. AHHH THIS IS KILLING ME!!!! I really, really, really want to read it but I can’t until January for long (and rather boring) reasons. Everyone is saying that it’s just amazing. I read the first three books in a space of like three days, then when it was over I wandered around the house with glazed eyes, not sure what to do with myself. I basically cannot wait. Thanks for the great review! (Even if it is torture.)

    Like

  2. But firstly…YESSS THE SUPERHERO/VILLAIN SERIES + ME = NEEDS IMMEDIATELY.
    *coughs*
    But back to Winter. 😉 Ahhh I loved ti so much too! it was PeRFECT. And I don’t think Marissa Meyer is capable of letting me down at this point. I think she managed all the characters (and zomg big cast by this point!!) so so well…and I loved the conclusion. Very satisfying. *nods* ALSO HILARIOUS. Everything Thorne said basically had me in stitches. He is the perfect comic relief. xD AND IKO. ❤ Basically I very much like this series. My review is long overdue too.. hehe.

    Like

    1. This is one of the few books where I’m not endlessly confused by all the POVs like some books I could mention (*coughzeroescough*) and I’m unbelievably excited for the superheroes series because we need more book-books about super heroes.

      Like

  3. I had to come read this after finishing the book. I agree. It was sooo good! It was really long, but in a way it was necessarily long? A whole revolution took place and succeeded in one book, so yes; it’s going to be long.

    Levana always makes me angry too. In this book, I realized that she’s probably psychotic, literally. She really. . . ugh! She actually thinks what she’s doing it right?!

    *screeches* Scar and Wolf are my favorites too! *high fives* They’re the best. I love to the moon and back. And everything, all their torture (I think they went through the worst of it), made me so sad. I was scared one of them was going get killed off.

    Really, how can Meyer have such a huge cast of characters and yet they are each distinct individuals? It amazes me.

    Thanks!

    Like

    1. Yeah, it was super long. I felt like there was a few things that could have been removed, but still I adored the entire book. AND I KNOW. I was so scared that Wolf was going to get killed off, but nope, luckily they all made it through.
      And I now! They all have their unique personalities and there doesn’t seem to be any blending (like, Cress isn’t a mix of Cinder and Scarlet or whatever).

      Like

Leave a Reply

