2015 End of Year Wrap-Up

EndotheYearWrapUp

Hello, my lovely blogglings! It’s about 36 hours (give or take) until the new year, which is frankly kind of crazy. But! Lots of extremely cool, bookish things have happened in that past year. Lots of ’em.

IRead

I actually have no idea how many books I’ve read, because I’ve only kept track of what I’ve read since September, but during that time, I’ve read an average of 25.25 books a month, and multiplied by twelve that means I’ve read roughly 303 books this year. Honestly, I think it’s more, because I tend to read less books during the school year (I get up at 6:30 to do math, not to read like in the summer), but 303 books is a nice number.

I also had a rather nice year for owning books, too. My bookshelves are once again overflowing, and I have had to fit the overflow books into the bottom drawer of my dresser. My bathrobe and summer clothes currently are in my dufflebag because I have nowhere else to store them.

IWrite

I have finished…uh…one book. I think the problem is is that I don’t plan my ideas out enough, because my novels tend to peter out around 10k words. If I get past 15k words I’m fine and I will finish the novel. But if I don’t…it just lies in the depth of the laptop, mourning the really awesome idea it could have been.

Bloggish Stuff.png

This year’s most popular post was the time when I made November Cakes and raved about the deliciousness of them. This is followed by the time I pointed out that YA really needs more purely Platonic Relationships, the time I created the Pastry Book Tag, and when I made a list of the most proper Book Blogger Etiquette.

While most people who look at my blog are from the US, I also have decent number of readers from Australia, the UK, and Canada. Also, apparently, one lone reader in Columbia.

Some pretty interesting search terms have lead people to my blog, too.

what that book is is where th e girl has a lethal touch. That would be Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.

how to survive a horror novel. I happen to have the perfect post for you, random person of the internet! Here it is.

do all female characters have to be strong. Physically? No. But should they be as strong in terms of character development/interestingness as your male characters? Yes.

cinder cyborg which hand is metal. Her left one.

doctor who quotes. Here you go: “Always take a banana to a party.” Hope that was what you were looking for!

BookishStuff.png

My favorite book of this year was probably The Accident Season, Winter, Throne of Glass, or possibly Fangirl.

The book I told people to read most this year? The Accident Season, Throne of Glass, or Fangirl.

As of this year I currently have three library cards to three different libraries. So if one library doesn’t have what I want, I can go to the other!

I went to the launch party for Winter. In a trench coat and jeans. And didn’t realize it was formal wear encouraged. But it was also freezing cold waiting in line to get in so I would have been miserable in a dress and tights. I was miserable in a trench coat and sweater.

InterestingThings.png

Many interesting things have have happened blogging wise this past year.

I have reached 200 followers!

And my first blogversary!

I tagged Maggie Stiefvater in a post on Tumblr. And she freakin’ replied. I asked her not to kill Gansey for my Christmas present. She told me I was getting socks and underwear.

I won NaNoWriMo! And both sessions of Camp NaNoWriMo!

And I made many new fantastic bloggish friends. I LOVE ALL OF YOU.

And…that’s been the year!

So…do you guys have any great and wonderful plans for New Years? Everyone but me in this house is sick so it looks like I’ll be binge watching A) Daredevil, or B) Arrow until midnight. But I’m fine with that. I really don’t like parties.

Also! Have you voted for Cait yet on the Epic Reads Book Shimmy Awards? Because you totally should.

Happy Wednesday,

BlogSiggie

6 thoughts on “2015 End of Year Wrap-Up

  1. Great recap of the year 🙂 I had some funny search terms in my blogging time as well, but HOW DO YOU READ SO MANY BOOKS!?!? I can’t even imagine how that works? Is it like a book per day? Are you just a superfast reader? That’s a really cool talent though!

    Like

    1. Search terms are weird. Like, why did someone end up at my blog because of doctor who quotes? I mention Doctor Who but not like I would if I was a fandom blog.

      I’m a speed reader and I read every day. So I average about a book per day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. People constantly get referred to my blog when they search for the marital status of some actors. I do not have the answers to those questions!
        That’s so cool! I am not super slow, but I rarely ever make it to one book per day (except if it’s like only 250 pages or so and I have nothing else to do)

        Like

      2. Really? That’s odd. What actors?

        I read at night, I think that’s part of the reason. I go to bed at about nine thirty then read ’til ten or ten thirty, but plus whatever I read during the day.

        Like

Leave a Reply

