Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions that I Want to Happen and Yet Might Not

5f295-toptentuesday

I have actually already done a post about my New Year’s Resolutions (I have twenty one of them, in fact), but then I realized; there are some things that I want to happen this year that I didn’t put on my “official” resolutions list because they are slightly less doable.

Or a lot less doable. But whatever.

And so, I hereby declare this Top Ten Tuesday post the Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions that I Want to Happen and Yet Might Not.

  1. GET MY NAME IN A BOOK’S ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

I don’t really know why, but for a really long time I’ve wanted to see my name in a book’s acknowledgments. Even if it’s just in a list of twenty people that the author is saying thanks to their internet friends or whatever.

I guess this means I have to start being really really nice to all my internet writer buddies.

 2. GET AN AGENT

I know that this isn’t really up to me. But my plan is to have a novel ready and beta read by the end of May, and I can start querying agents then. And, honestly, it could be another two years before I actually get an agent, so let’s change this to “query an agent” and make it slightly more doable.

3. GET A NEW BOOKSHELF

’cause I need one. I want one of those really tall ones that instead of long shelves that have the little boxes. I think that way looks better (AKA is better to photograph).

4. GET MY FRIEND TO ACTUALLY MAKE A SIZABLE DENT IN HER TBR LIST

Johana, I know you’re reading this, YOU HAVE READ FIVE OF THE TWO HUNDRED. YOU HAVE QUITE A WAYS TO GO. I recommend you start on Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer (it’s the shortest on the list), and go from there.

5. WRITE 1,000 WORDS EVERY DAY

I know that this seems like a pretty easy, doable thing, but really, it’s not. I’m in the midst of the worst writer’s rut I HAVE EVER BEEN IN. I have tons and tons of half-ideas, but nothing that I can actually form into a novel. IT IS FRUSTRATING. Seriously frustrating, especially because I really really want to write.

6. SPEND THE NIGHT IN A BOOKSTORE/LIBRARY

I think that bookstores and libraries should do sleepovers, like, once a month, where bookworms can come and read books and eat pastries and sleep among books and basically just be in a bookstore or library all night.

7. WORK IN A BOOKSTORE

If I can’t spend the night in a bookstore or a library, I want to at least work in one. Surround myself with books all day. The actual people part, on the other hand, would be a little bit of a problem.

8. BETA READ A BOOK FOR SOMEONE

I don’t know why it sounds like so much fun, but it just does.

9. SPEND AN ENTIRE MONTH DRESSING LIKE  DIFFERENT CHARACTERS FROM BOOKS

You know…wear jeans and a cardigan over a fandom t-shirt (Cath from Fangirl), black pants, boots, and a leather jacket (a shadowhunter from The Mortal Instruments), jeans and red hoodie (Scarlet from Lunar Chronicles), stuff like that.

10. REVIEW EVERY SINGLE BOOK I READ THIS YEAR

I expect that this will last and week and then die. But I shall try. I SHALL TRY.

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

12 thoughts on “Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions that I Want to Happen and Yet Might Not

  1. Sleepovers in a bookstore? Count me in!!! And it’s so cool that you plan to write 1000 words a day, I won’t be able to handle it hahaha 😀 Best of luck for this year, hope you reach all your resolutions 😉

    Like

  2. I really like this idea of having resolutions that are more wishes than anything! Certainly a little less pressure than traditional resolutions. Oh gosh, having my name in an acknowledgements would be SO COOL because that means someone I’ve supported in the past has been PUBLISHED. It’s like a good karma resolution. 1000 words per day is REALLY hardcore, and all the best to completing that goal.

    I’m also hoping to review every book I read! *clinks teacups to that*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

