Beautiful People #14

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n.jpg

Hello, blogglings! It is I, Aine, who is currently trying to write a blog post in under ten minutes so I can leave and go get a goat (this is not some weird analogy or something…I mean I actually have to go and get a literal, breathing goat), and so, I am linking up with Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In for the writing meme thing Beautiful People.

It is quite fun to do. You should do it.

What were your writing achievements last year?

I wrote…uh…one and a half books. Not my best. But I’ve been in this weirdest writing rut since last summer, and it’s get quite annoying because I really want to write, but whenever I sit down to do it I just…can’t. I stare at the computer, ideas going through my head, but I can’t actually write them.

It’s annoying and stupid.

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year?

There’s one that I’ve been calling The Mockingbird & The Hurricane which is about a boy with depression and a girl with social anxiety and they fall in love just as the boy switches depression medications and goes into that period of your depression getting a whole lot worse before it gets better.

But they’re like the cutest thing I have ever (planned) to write. Atticus (the boy) will order coffee for Rayne (the girl) and let her sit and read in the little backroom of his family’s bookstore, Resurrected Trees, when her social anxiety is really bad, and Rayne will come and bring Atticus’s favorite movies and TV shows and build him pillow forts that they’ll just stay in all day during his worst days.

But, it turns out, that researching depression medications and how depression is treated and stuff like that takes up a lot more time than I thought. I know social anxiety personally. I don’t know depression. I was planning on starting this on the 1st. Now I’m aiming for the 11th.

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.

Plot- My plots are currently all over the place. I need to start A) actually outlining, and B) not throwing that outline to the wind whenever I get a really awesome idea.

Romance- I’m currently a little scared to write romance because I haven’t actually been in love or had a crush on an actual person (crushes on fictional characters galore. Some lasting years [coughStilescough]). So I’ve been reading a lot of rather horrible romances and some decent ones to try and get the feelings right.

Characters- Honestly, I think if someone doesn’t list that they want to improve their characters, it’s a lie. We all want our characters to be as complex as J.K. Rowlings. Mine always come out seeming a bit one-dimensional.

Editing- as I’m sure you all know, I hate editing with the very depths of my soul, but I also need to start doing it. And also, I edit really badly, so I need to get better at that, too.

The whole actual writing bit.

Are you participating in any writing challenges?

Both sessions of Camp NaNoWriMo and regular actual NaNoWriMo. I might see if my library is doing a week long teen writer’s workshop again like they did last summer. I sadly missed the one last summer because I didn’t find out about it until after it was already over.

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year?

0. I have 0 of both. I’m hoping that once I finish TM&TH I’ll get beta readers for it, but as for critique partners I was seeing if I could get some. Maybe contact the people I did NaNo with last November.

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research

I don’t really read writer relating books, or research books. I use websites like WebMD and Havocscope or things like that for all my research.

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this?

Well, I want to know Atticus better, because I don’t have depression myself, so I don’t really KNOW him like I do Rayne. So I’m going to talk to people with depression and of course do ten tons of research and stuff like that.

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack?

My editing plan of attack is…cry and drink way too much black tea. I’m being like half-serious.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”  What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world?

I want to see more books about social anxiety, because something like 30% of people have it (including this girl right here), but there aren’t a ton of books about it. I want more books without romance (slightly ironic, considering I’m going to write a romance). I’ve kind of wanted to read a YA book about animal smuggling for a long time.

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016?

To have TM&TH done, edited, and beta-read, and edited again, and have at least the first draft of one other novel.

And so that’s it, blogglings! And I really have to tell you something because I’m rather excited about it: Atticus’s little sister is named Ramona. I bet you can guess the pattern there.

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

8 thoughts on “Beautiful People #14

  1. First off, I love the title of your book. How catchy. And I totally feel the same way about editing. I’m more of a first draft kind of girl. Good luck with your story. I hope it all works out and you write all the words!

    Like

  2. Omggggg this book, Aine. THIS BOOK. I would…I would put up my hand to beta I WOULD IN A HEARTBEAT BECAUSE OMG. I need more books about social anxiety and depression too (I have both) and it befuddles me that there aren’t really a lot that deal with social anxiety since it IS a big thing. Gah. So this book calls to me. Also because my dog (and I have a character :P) is named Atticus and it is a name of gloriousness. ❤ GOOD LUCK WITH THIS PROJECT. I NEED IT.
    *bribes you with cake for a chance to read it*

    Like

    1. I can think of two books that have a character with social anxiety: Fangirl, which I felt got it spot on without ever stating that Cath had it, and Finding Audrey which was just…no.

      So yeah, more social anxiety books in this world. And I expect draft one/editing to be done by end of March, so I’ll call out for beta readers around them.

      Atticus is a nice name. But really I named him Atticus because I figured his parents are both huge book nerds and they run a bookstore called Resurrected Trees…so both Atticus and his sister, Ramona, are named after fictional characters.

      Like

  3. Okay, first of all, your book sounds AWESOME. I would read the crap out of that.
    Second, I definitely agree about more representation of social anxiety. I would also love to see some more lgbtq+ representation.
    I think more romances of the right sort of good. I’m tired of the throbbing, sexual love and the kisses in the front seat of cars, the falling madly in love at first sight and the inevitable tragic parting at the end. I want more dates over coffee, not so they can flirt but so they can get to know each other; I want more quirks and tidbits about their relationship and the things they’ll do for each other; I want more little things; I want more quiet rather than obvious and sexual adoration. When they walk through the park with fingers laced, I want more talking about politics, or architecture, or school, or anything that isn’t their plans to be together forever/their said reconciliation they can never be or one of them revealing their tragic backstory. I want more relationships like Atticus and Rayne.
    And plot is definitely something I want to work on too – I want to make my plot twists unpredictable and have more interweaving plot lines (which makes for a lot of Sunday afternoon headaches and scribbled-on calendars, let me tell you.)

    – Ellie
    http://ontheothersideofrealitynew.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. That’s the thing: I want more Sam-and-Grace or Cath-and-Levi romances, not more Bella-and-Edward romances. I want more of like you said, the cuter, truer romances, the ones where there is some passion, sure, but there’s also a lot more just overall sweetness. And that is what Atticus and Rayne’s relationship will be; partly because of Rayne’s SAD and Atticus’s depression, but also because they’re just two very kind, gentle, introverted people who don’t want to crazy, burning-white-hot for a little while romances because they know eventually those romances go out.

      And plot is hard. The problem is is that when I’m writing, I tend to focus all my energy onto characters OR plot, so editing is a huge pain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

