Uncategorized

In Which I Do The Soundtrack To My Life Book Tag

0001-122153313.png

I have been tagged by the wonderful Kat @ Life and Other Disasters for the Soundtrack to My Life Book Tag. It’s been a while since I’ve done a book tag, so this should be fun.

OPENING CREDITS: FAVORITE CHILDHOOD BOOK

I was as much a bookworm as a kid as I am now, so one of my least favorite questions that people would ask me would be my favorite book. And then it would rapidly get more annoying when they would consider “I don’t know” me trying to get out of the actual question and not me really truly NOT KNOWING.

But I loved The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall, and when I was a little bit younger I loved the Junie B. Jones series by Barbara Park.

WAKING UP: A BOOK THAT GOT YOU OUT OF A READING SLUMP

That would be Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. I had finished Winter by Marissa Meyer a few weeks ago, and it was just SO GOOD and also the end of the series, so I had a major book hangover from that one and I would start a book, and then DNF it.

But then I got Queen of Shadows for Christmas. And it reaffirmed my love for the ToG series AND got me out of my slump.

SCHOOL: A BOOK YOU HAD TO READ FOR SCHOOL AND ENDED UP LOVING

I was told I had to read any fictional book set during WWII. I was less than thrilled; I wasn’t that in to Historical Fiction at the time. So I went with what my friend chose: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

I loved it. LOVED IT. And I heard that a second book came out and I really need to read that one, as well.

FALLING IN LOVE: AN AUTHOR YOU LOVE SO MUCH YOU WANT TO READ ALL THEIR BOOKS.

Maggie Stiefvater. I love everything she writes and I will rush out to buy anything she releases pretty much the second she releases them. SHE NEEDS TO WRITE FASTER.

FIGHT: BOOK WITH THE BEST ACTION SEQUENCES

I’m going to answer with Maggie Stiefvater again, because I loved the way she described racing the cappail uisce in The Scorpio Races. The way she wrote it felt very raw and wild, and I really liked that.

BREAK UP: A BOOK OR SERIES YOU DIDN’T FINISH AND DON’T INTEND TO FINISH

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. I got maybe a hundred pages in before I DNFed it. Just…no. I wanted so desperately to like this book and connect with the main character because social anxiety is such a big part of my life, and sometimes I feel so alone because of it. But this book was a comedy about mental illness and I just found that not okay. People wouldn’t write a comedy about depression or OCD, why should you be able to about social anxiety? This book made me mad.

HANGING WITH FRIENDS: A BOOK YOU THINK EVERYONE SHOULD READ

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle. This book is my current obsession. I really seriously love it, AND I WANT EVERYONE TO SHARE IN MY LOVE (Also, I will fight you if you don’t like it).

BREAKDOWN: BOOK THAT SERIOUSLY AFFECTED YOU/HAD YOU CRYING YOUR EYES OUT

I think the most recent one was Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway. I felt SO BAD for poor Oliver and I was having a bad day anyways and I just bawled.

ROADTRIP: YOU FAVORITE SERIES (MORE THAN THREE BOOKS)

Well, Harry Potter (duh). But I’m going to choose another one even though Harry Potter is the natural choice. The Lunar Chronicles are fantastic (5 books), as is The Mortal Instruments (10 books), but I’m going to go with Throne of Glass (5 books). Currently unfinished, but I love it and it’s MC, Aelin, with all my heart.

FLASHBACK: YOUR FAVORITE BOOK FROM FIVE YEARS AGO

I was twelve then, so…I’d have to say Fablehaven by Brandon Mull (I didn’t read the Harry Potter series until I was 13. I know, it’s horrible). I loved (and still love) that series.

GETTING BACK TOGETHER: WHAT BOOK CAN YOU NOT STOP REREADING

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. On top of Cath being on of my favorite main characters ever, this book is also my feel-good book, and I’ve had a pretty hard year, so I just keep on rereading it. It always makes me happy. šŸ™‚

WEDDING: A BOOK THAT IS REALLY SPECIAL TO YOU

I’m going to cheat a little bit and say: I will protect all my signed books with tooth and claw because THEY ARE SIGNED, and you can’t mess with SIGNED BOOKS. So I guess you would call them really special. My signed books are: The Faerie Ring by Kiki Hamilton, Scarlet and Winter by Marissa Meyer, Vampire Academy by Rachelle Mead, Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman, and Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey

MOMENT OF TRIUMPH: LONGEST BOOK YOU’VE EVER READ

I feel like I read a book that was about 900+ pages once, but I currently can’t remember what it was called. Some epic fantasy book.

DEATH SCENE: BOOK OR SERIES YOU WISH HAD ENDED DIFFERENTLY

The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. Kill off everyone ever mentioned in the series, I don’t care, JUST DON’T KILL OFF <the person who was killed by the parachute bombs>!

FUNERAL: BOOK WITH THE BEST OR WORST EPILOGUE

I remember thinking that The Faerie Queen had a very cute epilogue. But I can’t remember if it was an actual epilogue or just the final chapter.

END CREDITS: WHO DO YOU TAG?

Stefanie @ yourdaughtersbookshelf,

Ayunda @ Tea & Paperbacks,

and Lizzy @ My Little Book Blog.

Also, if someone wants to do it who wasn’t tagged, go ahead! I’ve stolen enough tags myself.

Happy Sunday,

BlogSiggie

10 thoughts on “In Which I Do The Soundtrack To My Life Book Tag

    1. Moira Fowley-Doyle had better write another book fast, because if The Accident Season was only her debut…she’ll most likely melt our brains with the awesomeness of her next novel.
      I felt so bad for Oliver! He was in a really hard position and only Emmy seemed to understand or even think about that.

      Like

  1. Thank you for tagging me! I just read Fangirl and I already want to reread it again! And I love Maggie Sitefvater as well, I just wanna devour everything she writes šŸ’–

    Like

Leave a Reply

