The Mockingbird & The Hurricane: Writer’s Rut and Critique Partners

0001-134664426.png

You may have heard me talking about my current WIP, The Mockingbird & The Hurricane. It’s a contemporary romance (I know, it’s insane that I even considered writing it), and basically the cutest thing I have ever written.

The whole idea behind it isn’t really a romance, though. The main character, Atticus, has depression, and the other main character/love interest, Rayne, has social anxiety. This novel takes place just as Atticus stops taking his depression medication (they make him feel sick), and starts to get depressed again. I’m kind of thinking of it as All The Bright Places meets Fangirl meets New Girl.

Normally, I’d already be done with this novel because I’m so freaking excited to write it. The problem? I AM STUCK SO DEEP IN A WRITING RUT YOU’D NEED AN ELEVATOR TO GET ME OUT.

This really, really sucks.

And I was thinking about how during NaNoWriMo there’s never this struggle to write. I mean, it’s hard at times, but there’s never the stare-at-the-screen-writing-the-same-chapter-over-and-over kind of stuck. And I realized…it’s because I always do NaNoWriMo with my other internet friends. We share snippets of writing and give opinions and that is why I’m always able to move forward.

And so, blogglings, I am looking for a critique partner (s). But there’s a small catch: the story wouldn’t be edited. It would be a big, first-draft mess (that for whatever reason I love with all my heart while crying out about how horrible it is).

And…I have just sold my novel very well. Think how it will be when it’s all edited and it’s time to query!

But, y’know, the whole critique partner is an exchange, so I just thought I’d point out: I’d be happy to critique a YA or MG novel, not an adult one.

And…that’s about it.

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

13 thoughts on “The Mockingbird & The Hurricane: Writer’s Rut and Critique Partners

  1. Aww! I understand about writing ruts–I’m in one too! I’m literally in the middle of writing a retelling of Rapunzel and I LOVE IT SO MUCH but I just…can’t…words. xD But if you still need people, I’d love to help you out!

    Like

    1. Words are hard. Which is why I start laughing when people tell me about how they’re going to try writing a novel because they’ve had this idea for a really long time. They always seem to think that they’ll have the perfect, completely written novel within a month. Uh, no.

      Really? That would be great! What’s your email? I can contact you. Or if you want to contact me, I have a page for it.

      Like

  2. I’d love to help! I’m in a bit of a rut as well, especially when it comes to plot. My WIP is also a first-draft mess, so no worries ๐Ÿ™‚

    – Ellie
    ontheothersideofrealitynew.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. Unfortunately, I know exactly how you feel because I’m having practically the same problem with my own NaNoWriMo WIP novel, which interestingly enough is also a contemporary romance and not the usual thing I write. This might not help you but I figured one of the many reasons I was struggling with it was because it was a personal thing for me, I was so afraid I’d screw it up, my WIP novel idea was also something I’d never tried before (I’m not that great with descriptions and this novel desperately needs more physical descriptions), but I’ll figure that out in another redraft. Hope you get out of your rut soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. Hey!

    First of all, I’m Silver-rain from the WCF. Just fyi. (I’ve been reading through your blog, haha.)

    Anyway, I don’t know it you’re still looking for critique partners/beta readers or not anymore, but I’m interested. I’ve been thinking that I’ll need a beta reader for the book I’m writing for a while now, but I wasn’t sure about how to find one (and I didn’t want to just get some random person, and I kind of know you, so…). But, my first draft isn’t even finished yet. The goal is to have it done by the end of May (but, it will probably be done sooner, maybe April), and I am handwriting it, so I’ll have to type it up, too (which I’m considering the second draft since I’ll be doing minor edits and changes as I go). Anyway, if you still need/want another critique partner/beta reader by then, I’m here.

    Thanks!

    Like

    1. I am. I have a critique partner currently, but it’s nice to have more than than one opinion. And my current WIP is still in draft form, too…I’m hoping to finish it during Camp NaNoWriMo.

      Like

Leave a Reply

