book review · four stars · Uncategorized

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett || Gold paint and charcoal

TheAnatomicalShapeofaHeart.jpg

Beatrix Adams knows exactly how she’s spending the summer before her senior year. Determined to follow in Da Vinci’s footsteps, she’s ready to tackle the one thing that will give her an advantage in a museum-sponsored scholarship contest: drawing actual cadavers. But when she tries to sneak her way into the hospital’s Willed Body program and misses the last metro train home, she meets a boy who turns her summer plans upside down.

Jack is charming, wildly attractive, and possibly one of San Francisco’s most notorious graffiti artists. On midnight buses and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who Jack really is—and tries to uncover what he’s hiding that leaves him so wounded. But will these secrets come back to haunt him? Or will the skeletons in her family’s closet tear them apart? (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

I first heard about this book when it came out, back in November. But, because of my library’s usual way of annoying me, my hold naturally came in the day we left on vacation and expired the day we got back. So I only just got to read it.

But, this book is deliciously arty in nature, because it’s about two artists. The first is Bex, who is also our narrator. She’s obsessed with anatomy, and wants to be a medical artist, which basically means she draws dead bodies. Jack is a graffiti-st known as the Golden Apple Vandal, but instead of graffiti-ing drawings, he does words. Big, spray-painted-across-the-rooftops-of-San-Francisco words.

And yes, this book is a romance. But it’s a very refreshing romance. There’s no love-a-first-sight. There’s attraction-at-first-sight, where both parties acknowledge that the other is good looking, but there’s no thundering hearts or deciding that THIS PERSON I HAVE MET JUST SECONDS AGO IS MY TRUE LOVE. Instead, there’s a bit of flirting (which I totally got a kick out of, by the way), but they more consider each other to be friends first, and that relationship just builds into a romance. WHICH I REALLY LIKED.

And yes, at first glance, Bex does seem a bit…cliche. She’s the artist girl with a weird interest who’s breaking the rules. But by the time the book was over, I really liked her. She’d totally be someone who’d I want to be friends with in real life. And, while she tromps around San Francisco with the city’s most wanted graffiti artist AND visit’s the hospital’s morgue to draw against her mom’s rules, she also has a normal, pretty mundane sort of job. She has a pretty normal family. And I liked that, as well. She has a weird interest, but she’s very normal. It seems like artists are often portrayed in the oddball-who-can’t-interact-in-society, but Bex isn’t like that.

Now, Jack…Jack I liked from when he was first introduced. There was just something about him that made me really liked him. He’s charming and sweet and just generally a nice person. And he pursues Bex, yes, but not in the creepy won’t-take-no-for-an-answer type of way that is sadly common in romances.

So, yeah. This book was pretty enjoyable. I also totally wish that Bex’s painting was something that you could actually see, because it sounds amazing and I totally want to actually see it.

Also, apparently the European version of this book goes by the title “Night Owls” and has a different cover. I actually really like both titles, but Night Owls just seems to fit it better, so I don’t know why it has two different titles.

FourStars

Meanwhile, I am horribly behind on all of my TV shows. This is mostly because I’m watching Parks & Rec with the rest of my family and New Girl with my mom, and I don’t watch TV during the day, so the only way I can watch is if everyone is out of the house for the night and I’m home alone.

Which rarely ever happens. So I have like four weeks of Teen Wolf to catch up on, two weeks of Agent Carter, three weeks of Shadowhunters…plus I still have some Doctor Who that I still need to watch except Face the Raven was spoiled for me and I can’t bring myself to watch it.

But oh well. More time to read.

So! Tell me, my blogglings, what have you been up to? Do you want to read/have read The Anatomical Shape of a Heart? Do you like arty books? And, finally…do you think I should join Twitter (because I can’t decide)?

Happy Friday,

BlogSiggie

7 thoughts on “The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett || Gold paint and charcoal

  1. oooh! must put this on hold at the library, because I love books about artists and such. also, refreshing romances are DEFINITELY in great need. I don’t mind reading the cliche love story every now and then, but give me a unique and fresh twist on that genre and I’m thrilled. And I totally agree with you that friendship that blooms in a relationship is SO GOOD. none of that odd “I’m love with you and will love you for the rest of my life even though I’ve only known you for five minutes and don’t even know your name” nonsense. XD

    Like

    1. Arty books are really awesome, especially arty books that actually describe the art that is happening and not just saying someone drew something.
      Like, I don’t think that many soulmate connections happen right away. My grandma knew my grandpa since they were nine or ten and they didn’t get romantically involved until they were twenty, and she’s said before that she believes they were soul mates.

      Like

  2. AHH I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH TOO!! I loved Jack, and I’m with you on Bex…like I thought she’d annoy me? But she was really rather epic and I loved the twist on her liking to draw anatomy. This was honestly the first book I’ve EVER read with medical art. LURVE. ❤

    (Also omg I need more timmmme because I'm so behind on TV shows too. *wails* I haven't even started Shadowhunters, and I really wanted to watch the Shannara Chronicles? Because fantasy is life. aND I need to catch up on Teen Wolf and Supernatural. :O It is hard being in the fandom life. HARRRRD.)

    Like

    1. The first couple of chapters I really wasn’t sure how I’d feel about Bex. But by the end she was rather fantastic. And I didn’t even know people could get jobs as medical artists…I thought that artists that were good at anatomy would just be brought in from time to time, but not that they’d be a pretty permanent fixture. Well, the more you know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

