book tag · books · Uncategorized

In Which I Do The Book Love Tag

0001-146074241.png

I was tagged for this tag by the epic Kat @ Life and Other Disasters! I was actually going to do this a couple of days ago, but (naturally) I procrastinated and now it’s up the day before Valentine’s Day despite it not being my Valentine’s Day post. But this post is all about shipping. And I talk about that often enough, so this is great!

Yep.

YOUR FAVORITE BOOK COUPLE

This is like an unnecessarily cruel question because I SHIP ALL THE THINGS. But…I think I’ll go with Blue X Gansey from The Raven Boys, because they are undeniably cute. I really wish I hadn’t gotten so invested in this relationship because one of them is walking around with a death sentence from the author.

grrr.

YOUR TOP THREE BOOK BOY/GIRLFRIENDS

  1. Percy Jackson from…well…Percy Jackson. He was my first bookish crush and I still stand by my love for him. Because he is very cute (or, at least, I imagine him to be).
  2. Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments. It’s like some bookish law that if there’s a character named Simon I will love that character? And it doesn’t have anything to do with the name because I know a couple of Simons in real life and, trust me, I don’t have a crush on either of them.
  3. Levi whatever-his-last-name-is from Fangirl. I love Levi. Really, I do.

UNPOPULAR OPINIONS TIME! NAME A POPULAR PAIRING YOU CAN’T STAND

RonXHermione. THERE, I SAID IT. But I don’t think that Harry and Hermione should have gotten together like J. K. Rowling said. I rather liked Harry and Ginny together. They were cute. But I never really got the draw for Ron and Hermione. It just seemed a bit too neat for me.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE AND LEAST FAVORITE ROMANCE TROPES?

Favorite: Basically what Jess and Nick had. But other than that, the couple kind of hates each other but they’re both hiding secret romantic feelings that THEY REALLY DON’T WANT TO BE FEELING.

Least Favorite: I could go with Kat and say insta-love, but I’m going to choose my own answer and say Love Triangle. It’s always obvious that the girl is leaning toward one of the boys, so why throw in another one just to make it complicated?

DO YOU SHIP NON-CANNON COUPLES OFTEN? NAME SOME IF YOU DO

My ships have the weirdest thing of happening way after I start to ship them. Like, I shipped Allison and Isaac from the second season. But for whatever reason I can’t think of a ship I have that’s non-cannon? A lot of them I STARTED shipping them when they were non-cannon, but now they’re cannon. So I’m going to say I ship Nathan from Half Bad and a counselor.

YOUR OPINION ON LOVE TRIANGLES. GO!

See “favorite and least favorite romance tropes”

FAVORITE AND LEAST FAVORITE LOVE TRIANGLE?

Favorite: Peeta-Katniss-Gale from The Hunger Games. Because it barely even qualified as a love triangle.

Least Favorite: Xander-Cassia-Ky from Matched. I really did not like the book (it was horribly boring), and I really did not like the love triangle. I mean, it was clear she was going to choose Ky, and I haven’t even read the final book. I don’t need too.

SOMETIMES ROMANCE ISN’T THE WAY TO GO: FAVORITE FRIENDSHIP?

I was thrilled with Aelin and Lysandra‘s relationship in Queen of Shadows. They both work so well together. Both are rather cutthroat and kind of vain and both are fierce and loyal, and, yes, at the beginning of their relationship they kind of hated it each other. But they’ve bounded over their mutual hate for Abroynn. And now are awesome together.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE SCENE WITH YOUR BOOKISH OTP?

I adored that scene in the very first Raven Cycle book where Gansey and Blue talk about how strange her name is and Gansey remarks on how much he’s always liked the name Jane. It’s funny and somehow not as insulting as I just made it sound.

IMAGINE YOUR FAVORITE COUPLE AGAIN. WHO’S MOST EXCITED ABOUT VALENTINE’S DAY?

Neither of them. Gansey doesn’t remember that it’s even happening and Blue finds it utterly stupid.

ITag

No one! I’m spreading the day-before-Valentine’s-Day love and tagging anyone who wants to do it. Also, I’m too lazy to go and get the links to blogs.

Happy Saturday,

BlogSiggie

 

 

12 thoughts on “In Which I Do The Book Love Tag

  1. GANSEY AND BLUE. *cue gross sobbing* I honestly want the Raven King like nothing else…and I don’t want it?? Like I am literally already freaking out thinking about it?! GAHHHH. Ahem. And I’m kind of sad that Maggie Stiefvater hasn’t announced more books? Like what do I look forward to after April? HALP. I NEED HER TO ANNOUNCE MORE BOOKS DANGIT. *collapses in a pile of worry*

    Aaaalso, I absolutely love Simon Lewis. ❤ Simons in literature are usually adorable, I agree. Simon from Carry On….Simon from Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda…*happy sigh*

    I NEVER shipped Hermione and Ron. EVER. Ugh. I actually really hate them together? he treated her SO BAD and everyone's like "aww, it's because he likes her". Well Ron can just go stuff his face down an ostrich hole. I don't like him. I also actually ship Harry and Luna. Which means…I do have a lot of non-cannon ships actually. XD Mostly for TV shows!

    Like

  2. Completely agree with you on the Love Triangles (I cannot stand them). Also agree with you on Matched, it was pretty obvious Cassia was going to choose Ky, it would have been weirder (aka more interesting) if Cassia had been unmatched and then had to figure out the why she was chosen to be single.(just my opinion though)

    Like

Leave a Reply

