books · Uncategorized

I Don’t Remember the Title/Author, But the Cover Was Red

I have had a conversation like this too many times to count.

Friend: Hey, Aine, I read this really awesome book a couple of years ago and I want to read it again but I can’t remember the title or the author.

Me: What’s the main character’s name?

Friend: I can’t remember that either.

Me: What do you remember?

Friend: That the cover was <insert color here>!

Which is very helpful, and even though I tend to sprout off as many books with certain colored covers as possible, it tends not to help. They just can’t remember without seeing the cover themselves.

And that is always, naturally, when Goodreads decides to take forever to load.

But I was thinking the other day, wouldn’t it be helpful if there was a list somewhere of books with certain colored covers that you could just scroll down to find the book? And then I thought, that would make an awesome blog post!

Yep.

Scorpio-paperback-website.jpg

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Amazon | Goodreads

51vvfhyujFL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Amazon | Goodreads

51uGifn7pGL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Virals by Kathy Reiches

Amazon | Goodreads

10015384._SY540_

Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Amazon | Goodreads

51a4s3YzCdL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Ensnared by A. G. Howard

Amazon | Goodreads

16096824

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Amazon | Goodreads

18713071

Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

Amazon | Goodreads

Half_Bad_book_cover

Half Bad by Sally Green

Amazon | Goodreads

The_Elite_Cover.jpg

The Elite by Kiera Cass

Amazon | Goodreads

23358109.jpg

Black Widow: Forever Red by Margaret Stohl

Amazon | Goodreads

18798983

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Amazon | Goodreads

419rjQNqYhL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Amazon | Goodreads

index.jpg

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Amazon | Goodreads

14061957

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Amazon | Goodreads

index

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Amazon | Goodreads

15839984.jpg

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Amazon | Goodreads

The End Games.JPG

The End Games by T. Michael Martin

Amazon | Goodreads

519Q4aII4sL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Amazon | Goodreads

514Ue3imbtL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Amazon | Goodreads

18196040

The Walled City by Ryan Graudin

Amazon | Goodreads

6357708.jpg

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

Amazon | Goodreads

13125947.jpg

Reached by Ally Condie

Amazon | Goodreads

So, there you go! 22 books with red covers (or, covers with red on them). I’m planning on doing a whole series like this…what do you think I should do next? Another color or something else (I was thinking girls with dresses). Is there a red YA book you know off that I missed (if I have, I wouldn’t be surprised). Also, am I stupid for not noticing the face in the red inky stuff on the Half Bad cover? Or the roaring lion face on the Half Wild cover? Because I seriously didn’t notice until just recently. I thought it was just a cool pattern.

Happy Thursday,

BlogSiggie

 

10 thoughts on “I Don’t Remember the Title/Author, But the Cover Was Red

  1. This is a great post idea, there’s a lot of good books on this list as well, you should do a whole rainbow, maybe start with the primary colours and work your way around the colour wheel? Anyway, great post 🙂

    Like

  2. Oooh, I’d LOVE to see green eventually! (I mean, partly because it’s my favorite color, but also partly because I don’t really own… green books? I mean, I have a few, but they’re woefully underrepresented on my shelf. Some teal and turquoise ones could TECHNICALLY pass as green. But in-your-face green? Not so much.) But, really, any category would be amazing. I loved this. It’s like a vacation for my eyeballs. ❤

    Like

    1. Green book covers seem to be very sparse. I wonder why that is. Maybe it’s the most expensive ink color or something? Because now that I think about it, I don’t really own any green books, either. And that is a totally awesome phrase…”vacation for my eyeballs”. I might use that.

      Like

  3. I just spent a ridiculous amount of time unsuccessfully searching for an image I’m sure I pinned at some point–it was a bookstore display of blue books with a sign saying, “I don’t remember the title, but the cover was blue…” Pretty funny!

    I’m noticing that “and black” would fit almost all of these red books! There are all sorts of cover trends one could focus on–dogs on the cover, only writing without any images, famous paintings…what fun!

    Like

    1. Now that you mention it, I feel like I remember seeing something like that, too, years ago. Now I’m going to go search it.
      I think red and black tends to be pretty eye-catching without being “Oh my god, this makes my eyeballs bleed”. That’s probably why.

      Like

Leave a Reply

