Beautiful People #16

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n 1_zpsw3b8il6s

It is that time of the month again! The time when I talk about the characters in my ten million different WIPs. It’s Beautiful People time again! Beautiful People is hosted by Cait @ Paper FuryCait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In.

And, the last few Beautiful People posts I’ve talked about the characters my favorite (and extremely slow going), The Mockingbird and the Hurricane. However, today I thought I’d do something different.

Please meet Juno Dukas, one of the characters of my hesitantly-starting WIP, Predator and the Prey. It’s a modern, slightly genderswapped retelling of the fight between Hercules and the Nemean Lion. I can’t decide if I’m writing this one or my other WIP, Please Pass the Blood (a vampire novel). However, I shall decide later.

What first inspired this character? Is there a person/actor you based them off?

Well, Hercules, but without…well…Hercules’ entire personality.Hercules was kind of a jerk. I sincerely hope that I am not writing Juno to be a jerk. And she’s kind of loosely based off of a friend. Sort of? But mostly she’s just…Juno.

Describe their daily routine.

Juno lives with her aunt, Minnie, who’s a Latin teacher at the local community college, so Juno and her aunt tend to only really be around each other in the morning and night. They both like to sleep in late, so it tends to be a last-minute scramble around the house so they can get to their respective schools on time. Juno is part of the photography club, so she stays after school for an extra hour, and she works at the local little high-end grocery store until she heads home.

She used to have a lot bigger of a social life, but something happened (if you know the Hercules myth, you might be able to guess), and now she’s kind of a loner.

If they joined your local high school, what clique would they fit into?

The creative nerds. Is that a thing? I don’t know.

Write a list of things they merely tolerate. Ex: certain people, foods, circumstances in their lives…

Bananas. She’s indifferent to bananas. She’ll eat them, but she doesn’t really enjoy them.  Heels; again, she’ll wear them, but she doesn’t enjoy wearing them. Her dad, stepmother, and stepbrother (again, if you know the Hercules myth).

How do they react in awkward silences?

Juno prolongs the awkward silence because she doesn’t know what to do in an awkward silence.

Can they swim? If so, how did they learn?

She can swim. She and her friend, Meg, taught themselves in the river that marks the border between their town and the neighboring, equally small town. When she was really little, barely more than a toddler, her aunt had a membership to a gym, but the gym was about half an hour away, so she took one swim lesson and never went back.

What is one major event that helped shape who they are?

Juno and her friend, Meg, were hit by a drunk driver. The car flipped and got stuck in a ditch, and they were trapped for more than an hour before someone noticed the car. Juno managed to get through with a broken arm and a concussion, but Meg died of blood loss, right next to Juno. Juno now has PTSD, and doesn’t put any effort into making new friends, because she figures she’ll be leaving for an out-of-state college within the next year and by the time she gets close with someone she’ll just be leaving.

What things do they value most in life?

Excluding people (her aunt), loyalty, intelligence, and bravery. As for physical things, she’s got a ring from her mom that she wears on a chain around her neck, and her cat.

Do they believe in giving other people second chances? Do they have any trust issues?

She does…to a point. For example, she’ll give someone who used to scorn her a second chance, but someone who was outwardly mean to her…she’ll be more reluctant. And she doesn’t really have trust issues.

Your character is having a rough day…what things do they do to make them happy again? Is there anyone they talk/interact with to get in a better mood?

Her aunt, her cat, and she sometimes watches the super cheesy chick-flick movies that she knows are horrible but make her feel better. She just never does that when anyone else is around.

Happy Monday,

BlogSiggie

14 thoughts on “Beautiful People #16

  1. I love the idea of basing a book on such a specific part of an uncommonly known myth! Are you planning on putting a lot of tie-ins so people who know the myth would be able to clearly see the links, or are you taking off with the idea?

    Like

    1. I’m planning on putting a lot of tie-ins, but still going in my own direction. Hercules is a girl. The Nemean Lion is a shapeshifter. Hercules and Megaera (or whatever her name is) were best friends, not married. Stuff like that. And, also, modern.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw precious Juno with PTSD and sadness. *gives her cake* I’m not actually familiar with the original tale, but just the fact that you’re doing a mythology retelling is THE BEST OF EVER. You are such an awesome writer, Aine. :’) Every time I hear one of your new story ideas I basically squee because they’re so EPIC and exactly what I’d pick up off the shelf. hehe. 😀

    (Also good luck with choosing which book to write! I can never pick. Agh. I think that’s the hardest part of writing sometimes. DECISIONS DECISIONS.)

    Thanks for joining in!!

    Like

    1. My baby Juno. The other MC, Adam-Leo (haven’t decided which name to go with yet), didn’t hit the jackpot with luck, either. He’s kind of worse-off than Juno.
      I KNOW! But at least whatever book I do this session I’ll know I’ll be doing the other book next session.

      Like

  3. Please Pass the Blood! That’s such an intriguing title. Darn it Aine why are you so good at titling all the time.
    Juno is such a creative and unique name for a girl. I like it.
    I’m definitely a creative nerd.
    Okay so funny thing: When I was really little up through about 11 isn, my mom enrolled me in swimming lessons because she thought it was an important skill to have. And all my friends took swimming lessons too, so like??? I thought that everyone knew how to swim??? And when I learned there are people who can’t I was like???? Very confused??? Can most people like not swim though I still don’t know.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Like

    1. Remember the whole vampire-baker thing? Yep. And thanks! It’s funny, I either find a title I love right away, or it goes untitled for months.
      I think most people can swim, just not people who live like in the middle of the desert or who are afraid of water or something. I live near the ocean, and everyone knows how to swim. I now people who live by a lake, everyone knows how to swim. But the girl I know who lives in a high desert…only like half the people know how to swim.

      Like

  4. It’s so interesting to see something contemporary based off of a myth. When you said retelling of a Hercules myth I was expecting some sort of fantasy novel, but it’s cool that you’ve adapted it to a modern day setting!

    And I’m pretty sure creative nerds is a thing. Creative nerd/art nerd? I absolutely knew those people in high school.

    Like

    1. It’s urban fantasy, so it’s still kind of fantasy, but at the same time not really? The only really “fantasy” part about it is that the lion shifts back and forth from being human: he’s human during the day, lion at night.

      Like

Leave a Reply

