books · Uncategorized

Ten Things To Say To Start a Conversation With a Bookworm

0001-164057665

We bookworms are a pretty shy bunch. We tend to lurk in the back of bookstores and libraries, clutching our newfound read-things to our chests and glare at people who dare to talk loudly in these places of quiet and calm. Of course, this is only a generalization; I’m sure that lots of the time, it’s other bookworms being glared at for being loud.

But, yes, bookworms are largely a group of introverts. And anyone who knows an introvert knows that you don’t always know how to start a conversation, because the introvert looks to content in the quiet. Here’s a hint: We would like to talk to you!

So maybe there’s a bookworm you would like to be friends with, and don’t know exactly how to start a conversation.Well, here’s a way to do it! Just don’t try and talk to them while they’re actually reading. Then you might get killed.

“DID YOU LIKE <FIRST BOOK IN SERIES THAT BOOKWORM IS CURRENTLY HOLDING THE SEQUEL TO>?”

We LOVE being asked our opinions on books, and it happens so rarely.

“WHAT DID YOU THINK OF <RECENT MOVE/TV ADAPTION OF POPULAR BOOK>?”

We also love complaining about all the ways that a movie/tv show got the book wrong.

“WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSTORE?”

This is a very exciting question, because it means that the person will possibly want to visit our favorite bookstore, and then will possibly fall in love with it too, and then buy lots of books so we have even more to talk about.

“HAVE YOU EVER READ <NAME OF BOOK YOU WANT TO READ>?”

We bookworms also love A) giving recommendations, and B) finding out about new books we’d want to read. It doesn’t matter if we have read the book or not…either way, it’s a good way to get us talking.

“WHAT BOOK ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?”

Just don’t ask what our favorite book is. It’s too hard to decide.

“ARE YOU GOING TO GO TO <AUTHOR’S> SIGNING NEXT WEEK?”

This is always a great question to ask, because there’s always a chance that an author we love is going to be in our city/town and we didn’t know about it.

“WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT ALL THE DYSTOPIAN BOOKS COMING OUT?”

Dystopian books have been a huge trend in YA since around the time The Hunger Games took off. And, well, a lot of us are kind of sick of it (I personally want less dystopian and more sci-fi, but that’s just me). This question either gives the bookworm a chance to complain or gush, depending on how much they like the genre.

WHO DO YOU SHIP?”

This isn’t a purely bookworm thing…pretty much everyone who has any knowledge of the word has at least one ship. But bookworms read lots and lots of books…which means lots and lots of ships.

“HOW DO YOU ARRANGE YOUR BOOKSHELVES?”

If you’re lucky, you might get to see some shelfies. But I always like talking about and hearing about how bookshelves are arranged (now that I type it, it sounds kind of weird). But seriously! This is a good question if you want an idea on how to arrange your own bookshelf, plus, most bookworms just like talking about their bookshelves. Kind of like how other people like talking about the cool piece of art they found the other day.

HEY, HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT THE HUNGER GAMES THEME PARK THAT’LL BE OPENING?”

I don’t think I know one bookworm who’s not furious about this. Every time someone brings this up, I (and I’m sure many others), go on a ten minute rant about how it’s romanticizing the violence and basically doing exactly what the capitol did in the books. Expect if you ask this question you’ll get some strong feelings from the bookworm.

BONUS! A BOOKWORM PICK-UP LINE.

I SHIP US.”

I don’t think you could get a bad reaction from saying this too a bookworm. Just don’t be the creepy person who won’t take “no” for an answer.

So! Is there anything I should add to this list? Has anyone ever used any of this conversation openers on you? How do you feel about the Hunger Games theme park?

Happy Tuesday,

BlogSiggie

10 thoughts on “Ten Things To Say To Start a Conversation With a Bookworm

  1. I’m sorry a Hunger Games theme park? What?! That’s just. . . sick. Somebody didn’t read that book properly.

    This is great! Most people try to talk to me WHILE I’m reading though, and that’s kinda of bothersome. But if they actually want to talk about a book, I will talk. XD They might be surprised.

    Awesome post!

    Like

    1. I know! It’s horrible, and I have no idea why anyone thought it was a good idea??
      I have perfected the “I am reading so if you don’t stop talking to me right this minute I will kill you” look. Maybe you should do the same? It works fantastically well.

      Like

  2. THESE ARE ALL PERFECT OMG. I’m a bookworm and the worst at being able to start conversations (introvert problems oops), so these are super helpful for me, too!

    Hold on. An HG theme park? That will take away the horror of the thing. That will make it very palatable for the population. That will make it seem less horrifying for such a display of tyranny to happen IRL. Did Suzanne Collins okay this? I highly doubt she did (although I could be wrong) – it seems VERY unlike her.

    Okay so dystopian rant time. I think some of them are fine – The Hunger Games was the original of the current YA dystopian genre, and The Giver and Fahrenheit 451 are classics. But it seems like lots of authors these days are writing dystopian because it seems romantic or to make a quick dollar. At first, there were plenty of original premises floating around, but now it’s really rare to find a good, original plot, and the majority of dystopian novels are merely ripoffs of Divergent and HG – young teenager must rebel against tyrannic government. At first I liked all the dystopian books, because I think, at first, it painted a stern warning of what our society could become in the future if we allow it. But now, I feel like most are out there purely to make money or get new authors famous, and I’ve fallen out of love with the genre.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think she did, either…at least, I assume not. I think it’s being based off the movies so whatever the studio that filmed the movies is the one making it? Not her publisher; if they did it, she’d need to okay it (I think).
      I agree. I feel like the dsyopian books are becoming more of a “hey, it’s the “in” thing right now” books instead of “hey, if we don’t straighten out we could end up being put in an arena to kill kids” books. I think the last dystopian book I read that was like that was No One Else Can Have You.

      Like

Leave a Reply

